We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing and recharging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Servigroup Marina Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Servigroup Marina Playa to your Saves list
Servigroup Marina Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mar, 3 | Urbanizacion Marina de la Torre, 04638 Mojacar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Mojacar
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“relaxing and recharging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spacious room with balcony and sea view, large bathroom with excellent water pressure. Large flat screen TV with BBC one and BBC two (not very often seen in Spain). Nice buffet with yummy Paella at lunch time althought variety perhaps not quite 4star level, (but for Euro 14, more then adequate). WiFi works everywhere including pool area with great speed. Friendly and helpful staff, gay friendly. Sea just over the street with sandy beach. Water was still warm enough to have a swim in mid October (2013).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    302
    75
    21
    4
See reviews for
260
274
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here with family for a week in mid. September and found the whole experience to be just average.
Our room was adequate but fairly basic, bathroom was clean with the worst hairdryer, completely useless. Food in the hotel restaurant is average at best, cater for large groups. There is a safe in the room, but you have to pay in the reception first before you can use it.
We found the staff not overly friendly, except may one or two staff in the restaurant .
Overall, this was just a ok hotel and I don't think we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro del Pinatar, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Everything about the hotel was good. Only slight downside being that dress regulations in Dining Room were not always enforced. Staff were friendly and helpful. Choice and quality of food was good.
Highly recommended..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Costa Almeria still seems relatively undiscovered by the Brits (almost all of my friends had never heard of it) and that's an attraction if you like a taste of Spain without fast food outlets and British-themed bars and pubs. I reckon that 95% of the people staying at the Marina Playa are Spanish and that made a nice change for me.
Our stay was fantastic value for money - about £220 for full board at the end of September - and we were still blessed with daytime temperatures of around 30C. The hotel was mostly very quiet during our stay - (the receptionist told us that their winter season started on 1st October) - but was much busier at the weekends when the Spanish enjoyed their short breaks. Very friendly staff and a very clean hotel and grounds. We had a great view from the balcony - managed to include the pool, the sea and the mountains.
Entertainment was limited but we didn't mind the walk (3 miles round trip) to the fab Dolce Vita cocktail bar which managed to squeeze in three nights of live acts during our stay.
So overall a great relaxing stay at a hotel offering incredible value during the close season. (Oh and it's well-placed to explore spaghetti western country if you have a hire car.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for 6 days mid-September 2013. Overall I would say it's a well-run hotel with high standards of cleanliness and excellent customer service.
We did request a sea-view room, but upon arrival was given one toward the rear of the building and facing South, Mojacar Pueblo and unfortunately overlooking the car park. However after a polite chat with reception we were shown another two rooms (one being a smoking room.....yuck!) We settled for 5081, with the sea to our left, plus pool and garden below, and the old town in the distance.
I would agree with previous comments that the floors outside the rooms can be squeaky at times (design fault of flip-flops rather than the flooring in my opinion!) and the 5th floor being the highest and no one above would perhaps be quieter.
Only tried the breakfast, but the selection and quality was excellent; cold meats and cheeses, various breads, a number of different cereals, semi-skimmed and skimmed milk, plus a very sweet variety that the Spanish guests seemed to love. Also on offer were fresh fruit and juices, croissant (choccy ones too!). the standard fry-up plus tortilla cooked to order.
We found the coffee machines added the sweet milk, so selected it black and topped up with skimmed…..this worked for us.
As for location it’s great for the beach (just across the road) and roughly in-between Garrucha and Mojacar Pueblo, both of which are worth a visit (if only for a greater selection of restaurants) and are / were 1.20 Euro single bus rides away. L2 and L1 respectively.
We liked that the hotel had mainly Spanish guests, but were puzzled by the “Irish Pub” by the pool. Fortunately (or not if this is your thing!) it was closed while we were there, and only opened to host a wedding reception.
We also found a lot of the local restaurants had shut for the season so had to venture further down the road toward Mojacar Parque Comercial for more choice. Try Garrucha for some decent tapas and fish restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first Beach Holiday in Mojacar in this Hotel and it was really good there. It is a very good managed Hotel with a good 4 Star Level. All was clean and we did liked the Design there very much. Especially wehave to say, that the Food - Breakfast and dinner - have been very choiceful and did taste very good. It was hot and fresh. Also good Choices of Drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marina Playa Hotel in Mojacar. The hotel was of a good standard and was good value for money. The food was very good. I had read that some people found some of the food not hot. This can be normal in Spain and microwaves are provided.
The hotel is not near Mojacar Pueblo but there is a local bus service .
The pool was good but we found that it is not open until 11am which in my opinion is rather late.There is also a heated pool for year round use.
The rooms are large (we had 2 double beds) and clean ,also had a bath tub.
The only downside to this hotel is the laminate floors on the corridors of the rooms this can make sandals sound very squeaky

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Servigroup Marina Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Marina Playa

Address: Avenida del Mar, 3 | Urbanizacion Marina de la Torre, 04638 Mojacar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Mojacar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mojacar
#1 Family Hotel in Mojacar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mojacar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Servigroup Marina Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbeatable seafront location and just 50 metres from Marina Golf course, 18 holes par 72, providing special discounts for hotel guests, and very close to Cabo de Gata Natural Park. Facilities and services:Sun terrace provided with 4 large freeform swimming pools for adults and children. In winter one pool converts to an indoor heated pool. Pool bar. Amusement arcade, children’s playground and mini club. Delfi children’s club (high season) with its own mascot, workshops and activities. Complete Wellness Centre (supplement) including fitness area, and sauna, jacuzzis, Turkish bath, massages and facial and body treatments. Tennis and paddle courts (supplement. Scuba Diving lessons for all levels: pool and open water dives (summer and winter, supplement). Irish pub and snack bar.Meeting rooms for meetings, conferences and events, TV room. Hairdresser (supplement), gift shops and newsagents. Free Wi-fi throughout the hotel, including outdoor areas. Internet connection at reception area (supplement).Refreshment stand on the beach and reserved beach area for customers’ use serviced by the hotel staff, hire of sunbeds and parasols available (supplement). Hotel-owned covered/outdoor parking spaces (supplement): 356.Rooms:334 large and comfortable rooms with balcony and with superb views, 2 queen size beds of 135x200 cm. each, and fully equipped: air conditioning and heating by fan coil system, full bathroom, hairdryer, balcony, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, mini fridge, safe (supplement) and intelligent locking system.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 60 national and international channels and 15 music channels.No extra beds possible.The hotel also has rooms equipped with facilities for disabled people (previously requested by phone or by e-mail). It also has two suites provided with hydromassages. Restaurants:Main hotel restaurant: providing buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Special celiac menu and children’s menus available on request. Themed buffet at night and children’s menus in high season. Italian Restaurant "Il Girasole" offering delicious à la carte dishes. (Open only on certain dates, please check opening dates with the hotel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Servigroup, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Servigroup Marina Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Marina Playa Mojacar, Almeria, Spain
Servigroup Marina Playa Hotel Mojacar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Servigroup Marina Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.