We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Parata

La Parata
Avda La Parata no. 21, 04638 Mojacar, Spain
0034 950 478 186
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 136 Restaurants in Mojacar
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: English, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Zurgena, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a menu del dia lunch, but unfortunately the restaurant had to stretch the ingredients and the chicken curry was nothing short of awful. Had a meal there prior to this particular visit which was very good, but I'm afraid it will be a long time before we visit again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mojacar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely situated bar and restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Established since the late '60s the Parata has seen a number of owners/managers but has maintained its standards of welcome, food and service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I went here as very close to where I am staying in Mojacar. The locals I know raved about the food and the friendly chef and so when I went with my family, I was not disappointed at all! The menu is extensive and it includes a children's menu. When one of my kids asked for a chicken dish not on the child's menu, they didn't hesitate to bring a smaller portion.

The food was fantastic, I had the grilled mozzarella to start and the prime sirloin. One of the best steaks I have had in this area. My wife says the cod and chips is the best around as well. Definitely going back here soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Duquesa, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great value in a pretty setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

La Parata is situated on a pretty hillside a couple of minutes drive inland from the main beach area in Mojacar.

I visited with a good friend ( is there such a thing as a bad friend?) as there was live music being performed by Ben Peel of the Wool City Folk Club.

I opted for the 10€ 3 course menu and were not disapointed.

There was a tasty chicken liver pate served with toast and when the toast ran out there was no hesitation in the staff bring ing out some more at no extra cost.

I had a 100% home made beefburger which was served with huge chunky skin on chips.

For pudding I had a trio of ice cream

All food was tasty with good size portions

Efficient service and owner was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.

Well worth a visit and in summer bring a cossie as there is also a swimming pool to relax by afterwards.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Great location in hills behind Mojacar playa - set in garden with mountains behind.  Hard to find however (thank you sat nav).  Half a dozen tables on outdoor terrace.

Extensive menu, at reasonable prices - more or less the norm for the area, in a restaurant of this quality.  We ate there twice in a week.  House wine was excellent and great value.

My other half's risotto just missed, but my cod and chips was brilliant.  Sticky toffee pud for her and choco mousse (semi-freddo) for me - both brilliant!  Next time we both had duck - sauce was to die for, duck could have been pinker.  Same  puds, same licked plates!  Best all round food in two weeks in Spain.

Service is leisurely. (what else have you got to do?)  Would certainly return, without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parata also viewed

Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 

Been to La Parata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.