We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive wooden chalets, peaceful location, spotless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russkaya Izba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Russkaya Izba to your Saves list
Russkaya Izba
Gasteva St., 34, Suzdal 601293, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 40 Suzdal B&B and Inns
Surrey, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Attractive wooden chalets, peaceful location, spotless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Attractive spotless wooden chalets with lovely new bathrooms and fridge provided in each, plus some basic cups/plates etc. Friendly owner who tried as hard with his few words of English as we tried with our even fewer words of Russian. We managed to communicate anyway!

Peaceful, convenient location, good for pretty walks along the lanes and river in Suzdal, 10 minutes from Kremlin, very near to several monasteries.

The gardens are pretty but I don't think children could play here without disturbing other guests - luckily there's a football pitch just through the monastery next door which is good for children who need a break from churches!

We didn't try the breakfast as it seemed rather expensive. Ditto the Russian banya which I had been looking forward to - until I found out it would an extra 2500 rbl (£50) for a couple of hours which seemed incredibly expensive to me.

Booked through Booking.com and printed their map - found the place no problem using that and checking the cyrillic road sign for Gasteva (the sign is opposite the turning itself) and confirming the house numbers along the lane. If on foot it's easier to go through the monastery, but in a car you'd have to take the second Gasteva turning as the first is a cul de sac when it reaches the monastery.

As in most places we stayed in Russia, some thicker curtains or blackout blinds would aid sleep quality in summer.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms - one was a junior suite which was quite a lot more expensive - I can't say I cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In a peaceful area, walking distance to all the main sites. Needs better directions on the website. We ended up at the back gate which was locked and no sign on it to say where to go, i.e. through the monastery. The owner doesn't speak English, but we managed with the help of google translate to understand each other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our stay in this simplistic "izba" house would be idyllic if not for extra charges and annoyances that kept popping up.

The rooms had all the cutlery and glassware, except for the most essential – the teakettle. To boil water and have your own coffee or tea you have to order a 100-ruble teapot (a fantastic markup on a teabag!). A breakfast is 150 rubles, and if you order three, not two, dishes, you have to add another 100.

Considering that the price of one night here is equivalent to 110 dollars (in an overall cheap town), wouldn't it be more graceful to waive these charges (or raise the total price) instead of a little extortion over and over. Other services we noticed on a price list were the use of the iron (50 rubles); two cups of coffee (100 rubles) and Russian sauna (2500-3500 rubles). This kind of attitude – taking a paying client for a cash machine that loves to spit cash – is, unfortunately, frequent in Russia.

The wifi refused to work on my Android phone.

The location is very nice, in a quiet lane half way from Suzdal's two main attractions: the Kremlin and the St. Euthimius Monastery. The road to the hotel goes through the territory of a functioning monastery with a bell tower that offers supreme views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The only disappointment about this hotel is that they do not accept credit cards. The hotel is very clean, the prices are fair and it was very easy to find (although we heard that a lot of people had difficulties finding it). Wi-fi is fast and free, the owner is very friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay here when we are back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a great stay here, we were in a junior "suite" which was a very spacious room decorated in traditional Russian country house style and had lovely views of the monastery.
There is a nice garden space joining the houses which would be good for children, and the breakfast was cheap and tasty, served in a nice dining room.
The owner speaks very little English but made a real effort to communicate, and didn't complain or ask for extra money when we checked in a few hours early and checked out a few hours late.
the location is good - 10ish minutes walking distance to the restaurants and sights in the south of suzdal, and near the monastery to the north.
Slight problem finding the place, as you drive up ulitsa lenina (driving north if you arrive from vladimir) you turn left and then right on to ul. Gasteva (the address is no 34). However the road peters out where you reach the monastery. get out your car at the monastery and walk through the front archway next to the gate, walk towards the church and follow it round to the left and straight on accorss the church yard and back out the other side behind the church - the hotel is then on your right with a sign outside - probably only 150m from where you get out the car.
once you have your bearings you will be able to direct a car to take you to and from the outside of the hotel more easily - but walking through the monastery is the easiest route to explain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

it is a very special experience staying in Russkaya Izba for the many reasons:

Location

We spent hours looking for this place without luck. We got no information from the internet except booking.com, the site where i booked this b&b. it has only one very simple address - Gasteva street. where i swear you can never find it as it is not on google map. google map only has one main st for suzdal. i recorded the GPS location from booking.com and ended up walking for hours in the rain. we ended up taking a taxi to get there. i was a bit surprised to see that it is just like a regular home with the doors and gate closed sitting on a hidden path without signs and clear indication that it is a guesthouse/b&b etc.

Later we found out it was quite easy to get around in Suzdal from the hotel. easy walk to city center and all places actually

Staff

During our stay, we only met two staff. One is the owner, another one is the lady who cooked breakfast. The owner does not speak any english. to communicate with him, you got to learn some basic russian and body language. but then he is very friendly and helpful

Room

The room was great. very spacious and clean. we got what we needed and i just love it because it is quite an experience that you can't get it from any hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Russkaya Izba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russkaya Izba

Address: Gasteva St., 34, Suzdal 601293, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Vladimir Oblast > Suzdalsky District > Suzdal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Suzdal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Russkaya Izba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russkaya Izba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.