We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Alternative to Central Porto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Porto Gaia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Diogo de Macedo, 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Alternative to Central Porto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is located in Gaia on the South side of the Douro river, about 40-45 minutes walk from central Porto, and about 30 minutes' walk from the old Port wine lodges. Alternatively, the excellent and cheap Metro system is a 15 minute walk from the Hotel (Euro 1.20 per journey for Zone 2 which covers central Porto out as far as the seaside town of Foz), and you can change Metro lines or hop on a bus to continue your journey so long as it is completed within the hour. The hotel itself, standing as it does on a hill, is visible from most of Porto, so a good landmark for fixing your position. The hotel itself is excellent: modern, stylish, with pleasant en-suite rooms (ask for a higher floor room with a river view for excellent panoramic views cross the city and river). Because the hotel is located in Gaia, where a lot of locals live, prices are cheaper than in central Porto so it is worth exploring the local area. We had breakfast at a bakery near the Metro station (Joao de Deus) where a coffee and freshly-baked croissant (often still warm from the oven) cost Euro 1.40, and became so well-known to staff that after a couple of days they brought us our order without even asking! Similarly, a local Chinese restaurant offered an excellent all-you-can-eat buffet for 12 Euros including drinks. El Corte Ingles department store is also adjacent to the local Metro station (with an entrance direct from the Metro station itself). The Reception staff in the hotel were very helpful with local information, and happily printed off our boarding cards for our onward flights. The hotel also has a very pleasant, spacious bar lounge area near Reception and also a few tables on an outdoor terrace near the main entrance. I would not recommend this hotel for those who do not like walking or for the less mobile; however, if you don't mind a short walk to the Metro, or even a longer walk after breakfast downhill to the beautiful river gorge that Porto stands on, I recommend this hotel: the local neighbourhood will give a more authentic experience of Porto in contrast to the scenic city centre and World Heritage area. It has a very nice spa too where use of the hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room costs only Euros 15 per person for hotel residents. A relaxing and reviving alternative to sightseeing in case of a rainy day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    188
    44
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
149
24
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canary
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a residential area in Gaia on the south side of the river from Porto itself . For this reason it may not be suitable for the less active as it is at least a ten minute walk to the nearest metro station . Otherwise friendly staff and good sized rooms make this a really good place to stay as long as you are prepared to travel into Porto by taxi .

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent two nights here earlier this month during our visit to Portugal. I am a Platinum Elite member with IHG so I try to stay in their properties when possible but was a bit apprehensive due to this hotel's distance from Oporto's center. However, it turned out to be the perfect choice. The hotel is a short walk [about 10 min] from the Metro and the views of Oporto across the river are stunning.

We stayed in a suite on the 19th floor and could not have been more pleased. The suite was HUGE, with separate living room and bedroom. The decor was somewhat traditional but everything was clean and well-kept. The bathroom was tasteful in dark green marble with dual sinks and separate toilet and bidet. Access to the Executive Lounge on the 22nd floor was also included; a small but comfy space with coffee and biscuits available.

The staff here was extremely friendly and spoke perfect English in case your Portuguese is rusty [or non-existent]. The lobby is a bit modern in design but somehow it worked to provide a cool experience for the senses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga Ontario
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A beautiful hotel, all glass and marble and very modern.
Hotel staff at the front desk were amazingly helpful and friendly.
Rooms were large and we overlooked the Duoro River, which was amazing.
Only downside was the restaurant. Food we ordered was minimal and service was almost non existant,and only 6 people in the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Duoro River. It was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced at our restaurant.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Spent a week in Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and had a great time.Customer service absolutely 1st class, really lovely friendly people. Taxis cheap and readily available.Would certainly recommend this hotel. Grahams Port Lodge really worth a visit, lunches avaible there if required. All in all excellent for 5 to 7 days stay and only 2 hour flight from Gatwick.

Uncle Reg,Lyn and Michelle

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações públicas at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

10 minutes taxi to heart of the wine cellars and the Dourp valley. It is a hi-rise building in a quiet neighborhood. The food is excellent and the concierge service incomparable. Only negative are the staff members who never ever smile

Room Tip: ask for executive level rooms with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked Holiday Inn Porto Gaia for a group of 26 wine association customers. We were all delighted with the quality of the rooms and the general helpfulness of all the staff.

A great place to stay in this wonderful place.

We will definitely be back to both!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Diogo de Macedo, 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia – Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge where every day from 18h00 you have an open bar and canapés, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers – Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.