We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your normal "Holiday Inn"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Porto Gaia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Diogo Macedo, 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not your normal "Holiday Inn"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a really nice property. The rooms are large, very clean and very well furnished. More "American" style than European (bigger rooms, bigger bath rooms). The lobby is gorgeous and the staff very accommodating (and English speaking). The hotel is fairly close to the riverfront (walk-able if you're in shape, but a quick and inexpensive cab ride if you're not). Very nice property overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    102
    27
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
82
18
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

First time this week we have been to Portugal /Porto and we couldn't have chosen a better Hotel to stay. The Hotel looks amazing so modern and well decorated. The Reception staff was so welcome and lovely, they where always asking if we needed something, they gave us some advise on places to go that where spectacular. The Hotel was also only 10 min away from the city center what really helped. The food was excellent and the accommodation was really high standards.Everything was so well organised and clean. I loved the spa. I don't have words to describe what a good time we had, we will be back because I'm already missing them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Holiday Inn Gaia Porto a few weeks ago for work, although it is not centrally located (about 10 minutes to the city centre) the property was up to our expectations. The Spa is nice, rooms are quite big, beds are comfortable, free wifi and the service is super! The food is excellent.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had some difficulties in the beginning finding the hotel (by foot)
Very nice and large room, very clean!
It is a quiet location, but it is not a very central location (situated on the other side of the river, 10 minutes walk to metro-station, from there on : 5 minutes to city center)
Very nice view if your room is on a higher floor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've never used Trip Advisor before, but family & friends have told us it's what they use, so we decided to go by what the reviews said. Upon arriving at the H I hotel we were impressed at how modern& spacious the lobby area is. The front counter reception person gave us very good service. The room is spacious & clean. Our room overlooks the city & Douro River...WOW! A very good location.The value for your money is there. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 18th floor facing the Douro River & city are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashkelon israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We-ve stayed two nights.Large rooms- great facilities and good breakfast .Quiet place -10-15 minutes from the restaurants- bars and the river .A very good base to visit the city.There was a problem with the elevators- but on the last day they fixed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your good experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is Avery good option nearby Porto despite a not very central location. Usually the holiday inn chain has what is needed, nothing more, nothing less (sometimes a little disappointing). This hotel, the former Melia, has very good areas, the lobby is impressive. At the floors, it is old and need some new furniture, but rooms are renewed and ok. View is amazing as this this a 20+ floor building in a hill. The breakfast is above average. Staff is professional and friendly. Overall value is good.

Room Tip: Higher the best due the view. Ask for a room with a river/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Diogo Macedo, 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia – Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge where every day from 18h00 you have an open bar and canapés, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers – Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.