We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Porto Gaia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Diogo de Macedo, 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is Avery good option nearby Porto despite a not very central location. Usually the holiday inn chain has what is needed, nothing more, nothing less (sometimes a little disappointing). This hotel, the former Melia, has very good areas, the lobby is impressive. At the floors, it is old and need some new furniture, but rooms are renewed and ok. View is amazing as this this a 20+ floor building in a hill. The breakfast is above average. Staff is professional and friendly. Overall value is good.

Room Tip: Higher the best due the view. Ask for a room with a river/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    172
    39
    6
    2
See reviews for
68
138
23
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A great value with very large rooms. Clean and well run hotel. It is a bit far from the center of town, we had to take a taxi to dinner, but it does have excellent views of the entire city of Porto and the Douro River.
Much more than you would expect from the average Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I ussualy travel on business alone, however in this hotel I was with bunch of colegues on internal conference.

Hotel is huge, lobby with lobby bar impressive. Rooms are standard, but with nice and cosy bathroom. It is more that you would ussualy expect from Holiday Inn hotels.

Food was great, despite breakfast selection was a bit limited. Or maybe I was expecting to much due to hotel`s look.

There are 2 objections:
- there is not much around the hotel and
- the designer who selected white carpets for the meeting room area was from another planet (you can imagine how the look after few years of congress toursim).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target areas that need improvement. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We could not find this hotel driving around. Map Quest and our confirmation had wrong addresses. I was a little nervous driving and graffiti is every where so it looked unsafe at first glance. When we arrived at the hotel the staff was great and friendly. I asked if the neighborhood is safe and they said yes and you can walk and its fine. The hotel is nice inside. We dined in the restaurant and the service was excellent and the food was good. They have a free breakfast and fee internet. The gym is very small and I never made it to the pool or spa.
The next day we walked down to the river across from Porto. The area is really cool lined with restaurants, Port caves and Rabelo boats. The walk was an easy walk. We walked back to the hotel late night that same evening in the dark and didn't have any issues. Compared to the prices in Porto I am so glad we stayed here. The Holiday Inn is an excellent value and we had two rooms in the family suite. It was the largest room in our entire Portugal vacation. The family suite has a lower level living room, half bath, small kitchen, dining table and desk. Upstairs is two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The price was awesome compared to small rooms in Porto.
If you don't mind walking this is a great place to stay. Just make sure you have the correct address when driving as it can be hard to find. I wish we had more time here.
The staff rocks and one girl- I wish I had her name - but she is a built in tour guide and passionate about the area. Great stay!

Room Tip: The family suite is two levels with two bedrooms- very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us, our family suites and the city of Porto.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

We also greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to difficulties to arrive at the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent 2 days at this lovely hotel. Although hotel is a little remote from city center there is a metro offering convenient transport and other hand a lot of ample parking for our car. Since weather we to a nice stroll into the city.
Hotel has a great feature of a little lounge outside the front door which is a very convenient idea if waiting for somebody.
Rooms are modern, very big and with kettle adding extra for a hot drink in room.
Recommend to travels to Porto to use this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed there few times.
Last stay for 5 days with my family for vacation in Porto.
Hotel is good quality and has great location.
It is very close to Villa Nova de Gaia railway station (5 euro taxi ride), walking distance to metro station (1 km), and taxi stop is at the hotel entrance (5 euro to Douro river boulevard).
There are some nice coffee places, bars and small restaurants around in case you don't want to eat in hotel restaurant.
I had a dinner and breakfast in hotel, they were fine and worth the money.
Especially dinner in hotel restaurant, I can recommend.
Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.
My registration was quick and smooth every time.
Last time I asked for different room than one that was reserved online (it was my fault).
The receptionist went all the way to give me best room with additional bed for my kid and river view.
The hotel is high and has magnificent river view rooms which I strongly recommend to ask for.
Elevators are fast and function witout any issue.
Lobby is spacious and good looking.
I liked bar area in a lobby.
Rooms are clean, furniture nice.
When I had some issues (noisy air condition during my first stay) they were solved promptly and perfectly at the first approach.

Down sides, you can't have everything :-) :
- Wifi access could have stronger signal in some rooms.
- There is no free swimming pool at the hotel (there is one small in SPA but you have to pay extra).

Given the price, location and quality I can honestly recommend this hotel for all kinds of stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was our first stay in a hotel in Porto. Since our arrival, the check-in was handled professionally and both employees at the Reception went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We were given complimentary 24 hrs internet voucher which was appreciated. They operated beyond the call of duty without any exception, assisting us when we needed to find our way around the town. The room was spacious, neat and tidy. Bathroom was big and kept clean by the housekeeping during our stay. Breakfasts are awesome and definitely worth having, a good variety and great quality. We highly recommend the Holiday Inn Gaia to anyone wishing a comfortable stay.
Warmest regards.
Sao Martins

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Diogo de Macedo, 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia – Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge where every day from 18h00 you have an open bar and canapés, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers – Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.