We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you just feel like sardines....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna do sao Pedro

Taberna do sao Pedro
Afurada - Vila Nova de Gaia, Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Portuguese
Description: Restaurante típico de peixe fresco grelhado na brasa
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurante típico de peixe fresco grelhado na brasa
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice if you just feel like sardines....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is a very traditional fisherman restaurants where you cannot expect much more than 3 diferent fish and 3 diferent types of meat. The sardines are good and robalo also. You can see that it is runned by a family (waitress) that it doesn't want to be there....sometimes have to wait a litle bit to get a table because it is a litle bit desorganised.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food but the sevice lacks sumwhat??????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We sat down for lunch, which was beautiful. Fresh food cooked on an ouside bar-b-que. The waiter gave us our lunch but forgot the water, I asked for salt and pepper it never appeared. We never got our potatoes, as our fish was getting cold and the waiters didnt seem tosee us we gave up anf filled up on bread. Our salad and fish was very fresh and the athmosphere very pleasant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After a long bike ride through Porto we went here for lunch on a beautiful day in Nov. We really enjoyed it. Everything was very fresh and very tasty. Food was simple but very good. . I found owners to be quite friendly. I would go back for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAUFBEUREN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“be careful! they cheat tourists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

in past i visited potugal many times and even Porto. So, i know abot prices in restaurants.
Many people come here for dinner, because is recommended in lonely planet, as i heared.
I know about prices for dinner and i know how it is possible to cheat tourists - but here in Taverna do Sao Pedro i had a new experience: When paying, the bill said 1.50 for one bread! And as i asked before what is "suplemetos" for my meat (me portuguese is good enough to ask this) the information was: batats fritas and salad - BUT in the bill was to pay seperately!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna do sao Pedro also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to Taberna do sao Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna do sao Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.