We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-See & Must-taste in Porto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rabelos Restaurante Bar

Rabelos Restaurante Bar
Av. Diogo Leite, Cais de Gaia, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-111, Portugal
+351 22 375 5864
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: On the banks of the Douro River and surrounded by the most famous port wine cellars comes un combine innovative space that knows very well the cosmopolitan tastes of the modern world ancient architecture, our chef sorprenedera your palate featuring international food up from the Portuguese cod Passing URI yet the author's cuisine, fine wines to your table but deslunbrantes surrounded by the views of the river Douro World Heritage of UNESCO.
Kraków, Polska
1 review
“Must-See & Must-taste in Porto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On beautiful November day, During our stay in Porto we went to this restaurant and spend afternoon there, which I will never forget. At first I have to say some word to Stuff - BRAVO! service & atmosphere were great. Food was really good and tasty. If I ever will be in Porto again I would certainly return there - place is worth to see.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    47
    34
    13
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kraków, Poland
1 review
“Great time at the end of the day in Porto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

At the end of the day in Porto we had a meal with friends in this restaurant. Really nice decor, great view on the old part of town, restaurant placed in much more quiet surrounding than places at the another side of the river. Great meal (all four of us totaly emptied the plates, we just couldn't leave anything:)) in very reasonable price. Lovable service. In one word, all we needed and wanted. I recommend it very strongly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“nice view, good service, food is OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

eating on this side of the river is more relaxed than on the other bank. This restaurant has friendly, efficient staff, the decor is attractive and the food is reasonable. So long as you don't expect high-quality food, you'll be OK and you'll be able to fuel up without emptying your wallet

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but food is fairly average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is in a lovely location by the river. It's nicely decorated, modern and bright. The service is very good but the food is just ok. The starter was the best part of the meal. We had brusceta and it was delicious,really light crispy bead and juicy tomatoes. The mains were very disappointing, mine was supposed to be a pasta with prawns in a creamy sauce. It came in a tasteless oily/watery "sauce". Our other pasta dish again was just average.
Maybe we chose the wrong dishes but in general we were underwhelmed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Carlos the crazy man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Carlos greeted us, we had a beer with no pushing into eating, but the ambience was so nice and the menu looked great so we stayed put. The food great, action plus, smile never off our face. Went to the bathrooms, they were great, but it gave us a chance to see the inside was lovely too, upstairs would have been nice to eat also. Would absolutely recommend this restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rabelos Restaurante Bar also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to Rabelos Restaurante Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rabelos Restaurante Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.