We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, without sycophancy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Yeatman to your Saves list
The Yeatman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Choupelo (Sta. Marinha), Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save!
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Luxurious, without sycophancy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a two night mini break.
Every care was taken by the staff to look after us, with none of the fawning or disdain that it sometimes encountered in luxury hotels.
Porto is very pretty. I would recommend a river cruise to fully appreciate the sights.
We had a memorable meal in the restaurant, where we thoroughly enjoyed the experience of the taster menu served by the skilful and attentive staff.
Other reviewers are right about the amazing view from all of the rooms.
I have never slept in such a comfortable bed.
A fabulous treat and you will leave feeling pampered and relaxed.
I wish I was there now!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Pogwog,
Thank you for your highly appreciative comments about The Yeatman, including the care you received from our staff. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel comfortable and this for us is one of the most important factors. Porto is indeed a very pretty city, from its atmospheric streets and cafés, to the monuments and views, the UNESCO world heritage centre of Porto is authentic and charming. A river cruise is an enjoyable experience and helps one get a good perspective of the city, the architecture and the significance of the river Douro in the city’s history. Glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious, comfortable bedrooms and that you had a memorable meal in our restaurant. This is the other important factor for us: that people really enjoy the experience and get a lot out of their stay with us. Thank you for providing your description and please come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    91
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
122
409
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This newer hotel is absolutely stunning. The service is wonderful and our room was huge with about 20' of windows looking out over the Duoro River. If it hadn't been raining most of the time, I would have spent hours just looking at the Old Town of Oporto. I could/would gladly go back there again. The hotel is located in the port warehouse area so there is plenty of port to be tasted just a short walk away.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have views so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Winehen,
Thank you for your appreciative comments about The Yeatman. It is always a pleasure to receive guests’ feedback since it helps us to evaluate what our guests thought about their stay. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed the hotel, our service and the views from your bedroom. It is true that the view to Porto is magical and one can look at it for hours without tiring and we feel it also motivates to explore the old city which is very close to hand, together with the Port lodges which are dotted around the hotel. After visiting the city, it’s wonderful to be able to return and enjoy some relaxation at The Yeatman. Thank you for posting your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of your stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel did everything well. It truly is a 5 star hotel. The rooms had every amenity you could ask for (heated bath floors, makeup mirror, patio, lots of space, etc.) The bar/restaurant had a terrific by the glass wine/port menu so you could try different options. The views of Porto were amazing. Breakfast each day was a huge buffet assortment unparalleled at other hotels. The staff was very helpful and always willing to assist. Definitley get a wine cellar tour with Marco!

if I had one complaint, it would be the steam room in the spa. It simply did not get hot enough. The ceiling seemed too high and trapped much of the steam, leaving the room only slightly warm. Perhaps someone could look into that as a nice steam would have really topped off our stay. Other than that, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear luellen,
Thank you so much for your positive comments and useful feedback in relation to The Yeatman and your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed nearly everything, including our bedrooms, bathrooms, the wines by the glass and our views. Our breakfast does indeed provide a huge array of fresh produce and we are glad it was to your liking. We would like to thank you also for your comment about the Spa and the less than perfect temperature in the Turkish bath. We are looking into this situation to determine what happened. We aim to maintain the heat in this facility as high as possible whilst maintaining a comfortable, healthy temperature as indicated by European health standards. We apologise that it was not working to perfection for you. We usually receive many compliments about our Spa and we recently won an award for 2013 – Best Hotel Spa Europe and we are keen to ensure the high standards our guests are used to. We do hope that you will return in the future in order for us to have the opportunity to surpass your experience next time. It would certainly be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at the Yeatman on October 2013 and it was great!
Staff is impeccable, rooms are immaculatelly clean, views are breathtaking, simply no fault...

100% reccomended and fantastic choice to explore the wonderfull city of Porto!

Thank you for such a fantastic experience!

Manuel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear nelitodasilva,
Thank you so much for your succinct and positive description of The Yeatman and our staff. We work hard to maintain the excellent service that is expected of us as a luxury wine hotel and also considering some of the many awards we have been fortunate to win already since opening just three years ago. Our greatest award, however, truly, is to hear the positive feedback and enjoyment from our guests for which we are very grateful and which will be passed on to the staff. We want our guests to feel at home whilst they are with us and to feel spoilt by the experience. With our best wishes - and please come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was booked as a surprise for my husband's 60th, by our daughters! Fantastic! We were spoilt throughout. The welcome was SO friendly & personal, we were shown around by the charming desk manager. ( I am ashamed I didn't note his name...Carlos?). As he knew it was a special occasion , we were offered a free room upgrade, & complementary cocktails. The hotel is only a few years old. The design is stylish & luxurious, built into the hillside , so that virtually every room has magnificent views over the River Douro to the old town. I could never tire of that view! The room was large , airy & had the most comfortable bed. Private terrace with furniture.The grounds were most attractive. I would have loved to have swum in the outdoor pool, but in Oct it was a little chilly. The indoor pool was fantastic & felt like it was outdoors! Loved having cocktails on the terrace. Only there for one night, so can't comment on spa facilities. we ate dinner at the smaller restaurant Tres Seculos, right next to Taylors port lodge, excellent. The whole experience was a real treat! Highly recommend & hope to return!

Room Tip: I think EVERY room has that wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear mairi315967,
Thank you for your kind response about your stay at The Yeatman. What a lovely surprise and a wonderful present that must have been for you, from your daughters. We feel honoured to have been a part of the surprise on such an important occasion. Our guests’ response is very important to us so we can keep track of what our guests think and to help us measure our service. We are delighted to hear you really enjoyed your stay, even if it was just one night, on a special anniversary. Your description is true to reality and we thank you for pointing out some of the characteristics you liked, such as the gardens, terraces, cocktails and views. We wish you many congratulations and hope that you will return to visit us again in the future. It would be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the river view of Porto is lovely. It is perched on the hillside and the reception is on the 5th floor and all the rooms are on the floors below, each with a patio, with views of the river, and the bottom floor has the outdoor pool. We stayed four nights at the Yeatman and it was one of the best hotels I’ve had the pleasure to visit; it’s ‘Five Star’ for a reason.

The hotel’s location is ideally placed for an easy 20-minute walk to the river then across the bridge into Porto where there are many restaurants, churches and sites to visit. If you return to the hotel on foot crossing the top of the bridge with the trams it is a little harder to get to the hotel as roads to not lead directly to it and takes a little longer to walk it.

The staff is friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome. The bed is large and comfortable; the room is spacious and nicely decorated. The food in the breakfast room was the best on our trip for variety and quality and our meal at the restaurant was top notch. If you like to eat as part of your entertainment, book a reservation and try a tasting menu, it’s worth it.

If I ever have a chance to return to Vila Nova de Gaia I will book a room at The Yeatman; the view is just the beginning of a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Cheryl F,
Thank you very much for your very positive remarks about your stay at The Yeatman. For us it is important to receive your feedback and an honour to hear that your stay was a pleasurable one as this helps us keep track of what our guests enjoyed as well as our standards of service. It’s wonderful to know you appreciated our location, views, spacious rooms and terraces. We are glad you spent time visiting Porto too. When using the access to the top part of the Dom Luis bridge, we often suggest to take the cable car to the riverside quays (in either direction) which shortens the journey to or from the hotel and also provides a fun ride with good views. Perhaps you can try this trip next time. We are also delighted you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, which offers gastronomic cuisine with a Michelin star. Chef Ricardo Costa’s dishes are known for their creativity and the combination of many wonderful flavours. Thank you again and we do hope to have the pleasure of your return stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent food, magnificent wines, great service, beautiful views of Porto, rooms with all amenities anyone can ask for, across the street from the Taylor port wine house, great fitness center and resident seagulls bathing in the pool. What more can you ask for. Definitely the place to stay when visiting the north of Portugal.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view to the city of Porto. Try to stay on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear RichardS853,
Thank you for posting a review about your time at The Yeatman. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you rate The Yeatman so highly. For us it is truly an honour to be able to serve our guests as a great deal of effort and ideas went into creating the hotel and with our guests’ experience and satisfaction in mind. Please come back and visit us again. It would be our pleasure to welcome you as our repeated guest. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua do Choupelo (Sta. Marinha), Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yeatman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.