We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very quiet and beautiful place by Douro river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta de la Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta de la Rosa to your Saves list
Quinta de la Rosa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Quinta de la Rosa, Pinhao 5085-215, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pinhao B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A very quiet and beautiful place by Douro river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is the second time we stay at Quinta de La Rosa and certainly won't be the last.

Very well located, at just 10 minutes walking time from Pinhão, overlooking Douro river, the Quinta now offers a new division with a set of comfortable, spacious and well decorated rooms and suites, located in the central block, over the magnificent swimming pool by the river.

Upon prior reservation you can enjoy an excellent dinner, served with delicious wine locally produced by the Quinta's owner, as well as its excellent olive oil, at a very reasonable price. Like the generous breakfast, dinner is served on the beautiful terrace of the main house, also overlooking the river, with a magnificent view.

The whole atmosphere is truly familiar and the staff is very friendly, always ready to assist you.

Apart from a reinvigorating morning walk in the vineyards, planted in terraces all over the cliffs, I also recommend a boat trip in the Douro river, from Pinhão to Tua and back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or a suite at the newly built block over the main house and the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    37
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
101
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at this Quinta while exploring the Douro wine area. Very clean and modern rooms in a perfect setting right on the Douro River and a short walk to the village. We had dinner one night and it was served family style with the other guests which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The place is beautiful, has a view over the river and vineyards, a pool, and a nice living room, where you can have a tea or wine. It is wide and includes a wine shop where they sell the wine produced at the "Quinta de la Rosa", as well as other wines. You can have a taste before you buy wines and, if you wish, you can have a guided tour around the theme of wine. The girl who welcomed us was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was served in another house and was great. The only things we didn't like were the parking (not very wide for big cars; you have to spend some time manouvering) and the fact that the bathtub in one of the rooms did not have curtains and we had to be careful so as not to spread water all over the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had one of the new 2-floor suites which was clean and bright and gave a good first impression. It was a slightly strange design as the bedroom and bathroom are upstairs but the drawers and cupboard for clothes storage are downstairs.... The setting on a slope at the side of the river is wonderful, and seating is provided on the terrace outside each suite so you can sit and enjoy the peace and tranquility, that is until one of the group wine tours or lunches ends (which they seem to do just outside these new suites). On two separate occasions we were suddenly surrounded by 20-40 well oiled guests who quite understandably (as the seating areas are not fenced off) decided to join us and share our reading materials. This wasn't really problem (although the noise level was pretty high) but we did draw the line at them trying to enter our suite!

We had dinner one night, which was a mistake, as although there was nothing actually wrong with the food - reasonably cooked basic fare as advertised - we felt it was very poor value for what we got ie set time to eat, no choice of menu, indifferent service (the 2 girls serving were chatting to each other in the serving area most of the time and had to be prompted to bring wine...) and the meal cost at least as much if not more than the restaurant meals we enjoyed elsewhere (including in Pinhao), which were more interesting, plentiful and of higher quality. Being October we were inside and I can see that if the weather had been warmer and we had been eating out on the terrace with the sun setting etc we might have been a bit more impressed. As we were in a quinta we had hoped / expected that they would have made a bit more effort with the wines served. There was no attempt to match wine with the food or to tell us anything about them and the quality (eg rose sold at 3 euros a bottle) was also disappointing.

The wine tour (free for guests) was pretty minimal, although information on walks provided in the room invites guests to walk to one of the vineyards with very impressive retaining walls, which is certainly worth doing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quintadelarosa, Owner at Quinta de la Rosa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
The new suites are specifically designed so all the bedrooms get good views of the river. We wanted to give plenty of storage space for our visitors so put large cupboards downstairs. The rooms are new and we are planning on growing some vines between the rooms to give more privacy. I am sorry the meal was a disappointment. I have asked the girls not to chat when they are serving. As you can drink as much of the wines on offer as you want, most people seem to think the cost is reasonable. I will look into what was served and see if we can improve this. Our wine tours cater for many different interests. I am sure had you wanted an extended more detailed one Joana or Alina would have been happy to give it to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 days here, the room was delighful, clean and airy, with the most fantastic views, and it was one of the simple rooms. Breakfast was a real treat on the balcony in the sun. Later we went on the (free) wine and port tour. My husband and friends are very knowledgeable and felt that it compared well with the tours we had been on in Porto. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Quinta de la Rosa, we found our room to be nicely furnished but was musty smelling and should have been aired out before we arrived. We had dinner there our first night and it was poor value for the money, chicken backs and thighs. The grounds are quite nice and the pool area is good, but parking is limited making access difficult. Part of our stay was to include a tour of the winery, we were late because two opposing tour busses had the bridge blocked, we phoned and said we were going to be late, but couldn't get our tour re-scheduled. For being a bed and breakfast, the breakfasts are poor in that they consist of meat, cheese, cold cereal, bread, and a selection of unpeeled fruit. All in all substandard in our opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quintadelarosa, Owner at Quinta de la Rosa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It had just rained and the rooms are new. We are checking with the builders of why there are any musty smells in the room. Chicken is normally very popular as it is one of the tastiest meats in the region. I am sorry if this was not up to it. As the property is located on a steep hill it will always be difficult to park. We are making more parking but this is always going to be a challenge! Alina tells me she did try to reschedule the tour but you were unable to make it. We also serve juice, yoghurt, different fresh breads, homemade jams for breakfast. Together with meats, cheese etc that you mentioned, I am surprised that this is not a sufficient choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First, what Quinta de la Rosa is: It is wonderfully staffed with people that help you feel very "at home." The amazing Alina seems to be everywhere at once and always with a smile. It has a gorgeous view! To have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Duoro Valley, surrounding by mountains of vineyards is really special. The same is true for dinner, to watch the moon rise over vineyards is equally beautiful. It's also fun! Because we were here during the harvest, I got to stomp grapes with the locals! It's very clean. Many of the rooms are new and feel like you are the first guest.

What it's not: It's not luxe. The rooms are basic (no TV, no phone - yay!). They have everything you need including even an electric window shade, with the odd omission of towel racks/hooks in the bathroom. The food was acceptable, but not memorable, though the wine and port on offer is delightful!

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the two story rooms close to the dining terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta de la Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de la Rosa

Address: Quinta de la Rosa, Pinhao 5085-215, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pinhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta de la Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta de la Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta De La Rosa Hotel Pinhao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta de la Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.