We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming building and nice people - seemed overpriced for the value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alegre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alegre Hotel to your Saves list
Alegre Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Emidio Navarro nr 2 | Bussaco, Luso 3050 224, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming building and nice people - seemed overpriced for the value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is rated by the tourist board as 2 star. This is accurate, unlike the description from the hotel on booking.com, as the room we had was not spacious and free wi/fi is only in the hallway, not everywhere as stated. While charming and clean it is an older building with a musty smell probably due to the dampness of the elevation. If it is warm enough to open the windows, then this would be ok. Breakfast is basic but enough, with fresh fruit. The advertised bar was closed - appeared to be under renovations. At 50€ per night it seems overpriced in comparison to the quality and prices of other places we stayed in Potugal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We loved the Alegre. Manuel is the perfect host in this beautiful mansion turned hotel. Stayed for 5 nights and we loved every minute. Luso is lovely and I would not consider anywhere else to stay. Comforting and comfortable. Well kept, great breakfast and just old world lovely all around!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Luso, with no preconceptions about where we would stay for a couple of days. After walking around the town - smaller than the guide books had led us to think (it took us 15 minutes see most of what there was) - we liked the look of the Hotel Alegre and booked in. The family running the hotel speak excellent English, and we were able to discuss places to eat and visit as well as booking arrangements. We had a wonderful time the following day walking out of the hotel door and into the Bussaco forest within ten minutes, and then wandering for seven hours from the top to the bottom of this varied and fascinating woodland. We also had a couple of excellent dinners in Luso (though the choice was very limited). Indeed, Luso itself has little to offer for those not taking the famous waters. Hotel Alegre is 'old fashioned' in the best sense - the house has character, the rooms are sizeable, the furniture is antique, and the staff seemed genuinely pleased to have us stay and help us have a pleasant time. The breakfast was not memorable, but this was more than offset by the sense of being in a unique and historical place, as opposed to staying in yet another anonymous modern hotel. We will be reminiscing about our short stay in the Hotel Alegre long after we have forgotten most of the bright and faceless rooms we have occupied in modern hotels. Equally, we will remember the Hotel's human face long after we have forgotten the dozens of people who have checked us in and out of other places. Give it a try, and help keep places like this alive!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Although this is called an hotel, is actually a large villa converted to separate rooms. Great character. Very close to the centre of Luso, and not far from the lovely (if peculiar) Palace at Bussaco. Also only about 20 minute drive from Mealhada with its famous and unmissable Leitao restaurants.

The price was very reasable and included an excellent breakfast.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your kind review

We will try to keep up meeting your expectations and hope to have you again as our guest in the near future

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located 100m from the town centre, the building is an old refurbished house. The staff is extremely friendly, probably they won't speak fluent english but they'll try. The rooms are nice, with high ceilings and Classic furniture. It has a swimming pool with a nearby bar serving cold drinks and a small pool for kids.
The breakfast is sufficient but don't expect a lot from it.
This hotel offers an excellent value for the price. Definitely #1 choice in Luso.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir

It is always with great satisfaction that we see that we are meeting our guest's expectations.

We hope to have you again as our guest in the near future.

Best regards

Nuno Alegre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews, but we were very disappointed. The building is impressive and the swimming pool is pleasant, but the rest is rather disappointing. The rooms are quite old-fashioned, cheaply furnished and could do with a bit of cleaning (the smell of dust coming from the carpets is quite strong). The breakfast room is nice, but the breakfast is quite mediocre: some cereal (served for some reason with salad tongs), bread, plastic brioche, buter, some fruit and industrial jam presented in a large pot which is refilled every morning. On the whole, the "hotel" (it's really a B&B) needs serious refurbishment and modernisation to live up to its "boutique hotel" claims.
While in Luso we checked the prices of the Grande Hotel of Luso and regretted not having booked this place instead. For 15 euros more per night we would have had a comfortable and modern room, a nice place to go for drink at night (there's nowhere to go in Luso at night) and access to a real swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Madam

Despite agreeing or not with the review content, we always take all our costumers reviews with extreme care, specially the ones that stimulated our costumers to join Tripadvisor community and to make their first feed-back ever.

We will analise your feed-back and try to improve according to it as we always do with all feed-backs, and we regret that it isn't possible to meet your expectation, as our valued guest.

Our Hotel has and allways will have a totally diferent profile from the other hotel mentioned by you, and of course, their prices will always be 2 or 3 levels above ours, despite special offers and flash rates that they can promote for some dates as mentioned by your comment.

Nevertheless, we hope that when you decide to come back to Luso or Bussaco, you will give us again the honour of beeing our guest.

Best Regards

Nuno Alegre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The family who run this atmospheric hotel are lovely, the breakfasts are generous and the rooms spacious and filled with character.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend you stay there too if you are after a unique stay in an old guest house style place with deliciously creaky stairs, rich timbers, heavy drapes and gentle quietness.
WE also enjoyed the spa retreat nearby for massage and spa and took a walk to the Bussaco palace. Car not required for this hotel and the local sights.
Would i tell me family to stay there? Yes!

Room Tip: A;; rooms seem to be on the first floor. When arriving by car, park around the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Alegre Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Madam

I am delighted to have served you and to have met your expectations.

Thank you for your kind and generous comment.

Hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alegre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Hotel

Address: R. Emidio Navarro nr 2 | Bussaco, Luso 3050 224, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alegre Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegre is a delightful, intimate little hotel nestled in exquisite woodlands in Luso, Portugal. The perfect hotel for the guest eager to get away from it all and find a lazy retreat to recharge the batteries! Why not take a drink out to the pool and bask in the sunshine? For those more energetic guests there are a myriad of rambling trails to choose from each benefiting from spectacular scenery emphasized by the nearby Bussaco National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Alegre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Hotel Luso
Alegre Hotel Portugal/Luso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.