We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive but no value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bussaco Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bussaco Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bussaco Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mata do Bussaco, Luso 3050-261, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressive but no value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spectacular arcitecture, very quirky. Well worth the visit though expensive for what it is. It is rated 5 star, but god only knows why. We reserved a low end double room and got a twin. The room is adequate insize and not as tatty as I had feared it might be. Fittings and furnishings all fine. Two principal complaints. 1) No drink making facilities. 2) 12" CTR TV that only showed two channels...really they need to improve there. Staff were fine and helpful. Didn´t try the restaurant for dinner, took the car down to Mealhada, Luso is just down the road if you dont want to go too Breakfast is adequate, but no where near 5 star, but sitting outside overlooking the gardens charming. There are some walks in the grounds that are really pretty uninspiring. The gardens take twenty minutes to see. Whether its best to stay in the hotel or stay in Luso in a cheaper better apointed hotel and simply pay the 5€ entry fee to the gardens (Hotel guests exempt) to take photos of this amaizing building is a matter of choice. For us its a one nighter max.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    105
    57
    31
    14
See reviews for
42
207
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We named this the enchanted forest as we could not see what was worth doing or seeing at this hotel. The site is pretty, and as others said it is like a time warp. I would have rated this hotel higher but the service and staff were not kind at all. This was such a disappointment given the Portuguese people. We found an reason to leave the site and hotel as often as possible over our two days. The breakfast offerings were stale - and dinner too was a disappointment. There are many wonderful places to see in Portugal that have kind people who are glad to share their knowledge with you - this is not one of them. When we were here we went to Coimbra and Curia during the day - what a difference - wonderful people - great food - beautiful sites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Listed in the '1000 Places to See Before You Die.' The last summer residence built by the Portuguese monarchy - and what a fantasy palace it is with pinnacles, turrets, arched windows, murals and tiles galore, and elaborate furnishings. Finished in 1907; the king was assassinated in 1908. We arrived before the room was available, and were shown to the porch sitting area where we could order lunch - a delicious soup and glass of sparkling wine! After checking in, we walked the beautiful gardens, then had a most enjoyable time relaxing in the bar area with a glass of port. Yes, the bedrooms are tired. (The furnishings definitely have a turn-of-the-century look because they are from that period!) But the bedroom and bathroom are clean and spacious. Dined in the restaurant; good food, serving staff adequate. The breakfast buffet had numerous items, those tried were delicious. Sometimes you have to appreciate NOT being in a modern hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great setting and totally over the top architecture and interiors however apparently no attempt to keep up to date with guest expectations in 21st century. Tired rooms, old furniture, massive TV's with poor reception, no air con. and so we could go on. Dinner like being out somewhere fancy 30 years ago. Food very ordinary, service very average and old style. A meal at your elderly aunt's house would just about sum it up. Nothing specifically bad ......... just a very strange time warp experience. But maybe it's all deliberate rather than a failure to keep with the times. If so, it's not for us. And we are in our 50's, and appreciate good quality but this is not it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

While the Palace is fantastic to look at from the outside, and the common rooms are magnificent and unique, the rooms are OLD and not very comfortable. I am so glad that I only stayed one night. If you want a unique hotel with historic charm, and don't care about musty, old, and tired rooms, and a lack-luster restaurant with marginal food, then this is your place. Photo opportunities galore!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We visited here four years ago and vowed to return for a stay. The grounds of the palace are beautiful. Hotel needs a bit of updating (old TVs in rooms) but, in all, it was a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We (husband and wife) have stayed here a couple of times and found it extremely good value. The food good and the wine from their own vineyards, though expensive by our normal standards when in Portugal, is fantastic. Gardens/Woods very attractive and cool,super views from the top of the hill. The main building has to be seen to be believed. Will we go back.....Yes! There are a few hotels in this group, we have stayed in three of them , all with their own character . Super Art Deco sister hotel in Coimbra.

Room Tip: Standard Room 18 and next door have balcony big enough for game of badminton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bussaco Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bussaco Palace Hotel

Address: Mata do Bussaco, Luso 3050-261, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bussaco Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bussaco Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussaco Palace Luso
Hotel Bussaco Palace
Bussaco Palace Hotel Portugal/Luso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bussaco Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.