We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Place...but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bussaco Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bussaco Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bussaco Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mata do Bussaco, Luso 3050-261, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A Grand Place...but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

While the Palace is fantastic to look at from the outside, and the common rooms are magnificent and unique, the rooms are OLD and not very comfortable. I am so glad that I only stayed one night. If you want a unique hotel with historic charm, and don't care about musty, old, and tired rooms, and a lack-luster restaurant with marginal food, then this is your place. Photo opportunities galore!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    117
    63
    32
    14
See reviews for
56
223
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We visited here four years ago and vowed to return for a stay. The grounds of the palace are beautiful. Hotel needs a bit of updating (old TVs in rooms) but, in all, it was a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We (husband and wife) have stayed here a couple of times and found it extremely good value. The food good and the wine from their own vineyards, though expensive by our normal standards when in Portugal, is fantastic. Gardens/Woods very attractive and cool,super views from the top of the hill. The main building has to be seen to be believed. Will we go back.....Yes! There are a few hotels in this group, we have stayed in three of them , all with their own character . Super Art Deco sister hotel in Coimbra.

Room Tip: Standard Room 18 and next door have balcony big enough for game of badminton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Whilst the grounds are magnificent and the rooms adequate the food was simply terrible and expensive. Perhaps OK for a stay but definately don't eat there. Try a restaurant in Luso.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was a once in a lifetime experience, and I am really happy that we stayed here for a couple of nights. The palace is at the center of a walled in forest, covered in azulejos telling the story of the discoveries. Many of the rooms have balconies with actual gargoyles hanging off of them, and the rose window over the main staircase is stunning. It was like being in a fairy tale.

On the other hand, it is a bit laughable that this is billed as a 5-star hotel, and crazy that it charges such a high price for the rooms. We had a comfortable 3-star room, quirky and clean and cramped. It was fine, but the pillows were lumpy and the bed was really hard. Not one person at the hotel asked if we were enjoying our stay, even at check out. We had a good laugh at the 1980s style phone and television in the room. No air conditioning. A small space heater with red tape wrapped around a frayed cord. We had a voucher, two nights for the price of one, so I think we paid what it is worth. But the full price they charge per night is on par with actual 5 star establishments, with amenities and comfort at a level far beyond what they do here.

In short-- stay here if you can get a good price, and expect to feel like royalty and in awe of your surroundings. It is like staying at a place you would normally tour, not sleep in! On the other hand, keep your expectations in check about the 5 star thing. That part is just not true. And also-- do NOT eat in the restaurant other than the free breakfast buffet! Drive into Luso and try a restaurant there. We loved Pedra de Sal. But the €40/plate palace meal was a real disappointment.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony, and in summer make sure you ask for a room with A/C-- they don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Palace Hotel do Bussaco is located in the heart of a natural woodland reserve in Bussaco, Portugal. The hotel has a good representation of The Portuguese 'Manueline' style of architecture.
Being an historical Hotel, with 5* classification we would expect a 5* accomodation and treatment, however the Hotel is quite old, and definitely need to be renovated in many levels, namelly confort of the bedrooms, toilets, and general decoration.
Nevertheless if you like the old original style, than this is a very good choise.
Do not miss a visit to the restaurant. The room is unique and the cuisine is also quite good. A large selection of old wines is also available.
Located inside the Bussaco forest, you have the change a a direct contact with nature, since there are several tracks allong the forest to explore.
Also history is very much present, with the Carmelitas Convent and the military museum, due to the French Napolean batle that took in the region.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

As others have mentioned the location is beautiful. The grounds are immense with lots of trails, gardens and hidden treasures in the forest. The building itself is beautiful too, the rooms are fine (for such an old place). They are very clean, and spacious. They could use some updating, as the materials are getting pretty worn. Rooms were very hot, we had to open a window. The bell man was amazing and so helpful with our luggage, however, the restaurant staff comes across as snooty. Service is slow, I suspect they think no one is in a hurry...no other choices up here. While the dinner was only OK at best it was very expensive. Breakfast buffet (included in room cost) however was very good - they even had champagne. We enjoyed our stay, one night is probably enough here though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bussaco Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bussaco Palace Hotel

Address: Mata do Bussaco, Luso 3050-261, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bussaco Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Bussaco Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussaco Palace Luso
Hotel Bussaco Palace
Bussaco Palace Hotel Portugal/Luso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bussaco Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.