We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club to your Saves list
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada De Sao Roque | Estrada de São Roque, nº5, Machico, Madeira 9200-126, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Machico
ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

In august my sister got married to a guy from madeira and had the reception at the dom pedro baia hotel. As we were there for a wedding there was almost 80 of us stayed in the hotel, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay the service was great and staff very helpful. On the day of the wedding the hotel held a bbq for the other guests as we wer taking up the main room for the reception and the service at the reception was excellent couldn't fault them at all! we also had our hairs done at the hotels hair dressers and she was excellent, fast and extremely cheap too.

I stayed for 2 weeks and the cleaniness of the rooms and hotel itself was excellent, a cleaner would come to the room everyday cleaned and ensured there was clean towels etc. The pool area was always clean and the pools temperature and ph balance was checked every few hours which was very good. The scenery from the hotel alone was magnificant, especially at night during the week of the festival. This is a hotel i definately will visit again. As there was alot of us that stayed in the hotel they all agreed it was a lovely hotel, with friendly, helpful, courteous staff.

  • Liked — stress-free and great service
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    122
    118
    52
    36
See reviews for
78
183
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Do not be put off by the couple of bad reviews that follow, we nearly were as were others we met.

The hotel is clean and the food good and plentyful. The staff were polite and worked hard. If you want a quiet relaxing holiday this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the airport by taxi (cost us 7 Euros on the meter) and there are plenty of taxis around at the airport and hotel.
Periodic airplane noise as planes take off the other side of the headland, but not a problem.
Machico, Madeira's second city after Funchal, is pleasant and slow-paced. Sunny weather with a few clouds, temp. around high 70s Fahr. The first few days we experienced the annual Gastronomica Festival with live music into the early hours, but once this was over the city became quiet in the evenings.
The hotel is on the seafront, our room was clean and as expected, although air conditioning was notably lacking as still hot at night with little air movement. Standard rooms have no balcony (only club room) but nearly all appear to have a side sea view. There is a road intersection next to the hotel but not noisy.
We booked all-inclusive- sports available: archery, bowls, tennis, ping pong, kayak, sailing. Outdoor pool only but water not cold.
Meals- not as much variety as we have seen in other 4* hotels but good quality and quantity, and the hotel staff were all courteous and obliging.
Regular bus service to Funchal (2.65 Euros per person) 35 mins by Express or 50 mins via the more scenic route.

Recommended for a restful get-away

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — No aircon in room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee in Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We had the misfortune of almost having to stay at this hotel. We booked through a travel agent which is something we would normally never do and were advised that this was a good 4 star hotel in a small fishing village, huh!

We arrived on 28 July, room was not ready and we had to wait for 45 minutes in the rather dull reception area, when we got the room, it was small, had no terrace or balcony, was not particularly clean and pleasant, had an awful smell - like a mop that was sour had been used, 2 single beds with what looked like army issue blankets on the bed. There was 2 windows but only one of the opened slightly - the other window had a broken handle. The room faced a busy road and the hotel is right on the flight path - hardly an ideal location to describe as a small, sleepy fishing village. The dining areas were not clean in my opinion with dirty table linen. The all inclusive deal we had chosen was a bit misleading, you can have drinks from 1000-2400hrs but snacks only between 1130-1200 and then again from 1700-1730 which is when you can have a tea or coffee - not outwith these times. The pool area was disappointing with a small pool with lots of sunbeds posiitoned very closely to each other in a uniformed manner.

We asked to upgrade our room to one with a balcony but this was not possible as the hotel was full and it would have cost another 50 euros.

We opted to leave and used the one computer available to guests to check out other hotels in the area and found a fabulous hotel in Funchal which we stayed for the entire duration of our holiday - having paid £1200 for 1 week all inclusive for 2 adults at the Hotel Dom Pedro and then another £1000 for bed and breakfast at a real 4 star hotel it turned out to be an expensive holiday - but better that than staying at this hotel where we would have been miserable. I did check trip advisor prior to going and got some positive and negative feedback but we can honestly say that this is the worst hotel that we have nearly stayed in - it must have been awarded 4 start status around about 1980 we reckon.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Poor standard and disinterested staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

traveled on the 14 july for one week returned after five days at a cost to us of 244 e, it is the worst all inclusive we have ever stayed at,the breakfast fried eggs cold meats,the lunch cold meats, one hot meat dish,one hot fish dish,one pasta dish,one veg,one potatoe dish its the same for dinner thay did have a good choice of salads. The snacks were a joke cheese sandwiches and cake,we had to queue at both bars at times it took for ever,i would not call them cocktails i would them poptails so bad, the spirits were so weak the wine just about made it.The pool area was so small if the hotel was full it would have been hell,you had to pay for the umbrellas which most of the time you had to hold on to them because the wind did not stop blowing this must be there air conditioning as there is none in the hotel it was so warm, on the last two nights we had dinner across the road great meal The rooms were a bit out dated time for a refurb,you need to think twice before you come to this hotel,dont let it put you of the island very clean.This is the first time i have ever done this but i felt you all need to know what to expect.

  • Liked — the shower
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We arrived at the hotel at 8.45pm and checked in with no problems, however, we were very hungry and decided to go straight down to dinner to find it had ended and after this time you could not get any food at all!! (has to be the first all inclusive where no food available after this time) we went to the bar to find not even any crisps, nuts or any bar food available in the evening and this was the norm for our full seven nights.

The rooms were ok, clean and tidy and cleaned well everyday. We were again disappointed that we had no tea/coffee facilities in the room, on booking we were told it was in all rooms, and if we wanted water to take to our room so we could at least have something to drink in the morning we had to either buy it as an extra or as we found out get a cup of water from the bar! Beware though, we asked one evening as they were calling last orders and we had to argue with them to get a cup of water. The bar shuts at midnight and they start to pack up at quarter too so again be ready to get your last drinks in !!

The pool is kept very clean and tidy, you have to get a ticket from reception to hand in to get sunbeds and towel, if you loose it then there is a 25 euro fine. The pool water is cold although ok if the weather is good, and it is very salty water.

We were looking for a quiet all inclusive for a week and this is what we got, the town is like a ghost town but very quaint.

We had a few complaints and the icing on the cake was the day we left our airport pickup wasn't till 6pm, we had to check out of the room at 12 so put out luggage in reception, when we went to sit by the pool for the afternoon we were told our all-inclusive had finished at 12 when we vacated the room, so we had to pay for drink and food for the day. We did argue with this on the grounds that we had not had any food on the day of our arrival so counting the days we had only had 6 days all inclusive but they were not ready to change there minds.

The food was very boring, boiled chicken or fish most days with a choice of pasta with no sauce or cheese, plain rice or boiled potatoes. The English breakfast was served over 3 days egg and bacon one day, scrambled egg and sausage the 2nd and boiled egg and beans the 3rd day, the 4th day it was back to the same menus as day one!!

We would not recomend this hotel at all it needs to learn alot before it does any more all inclusives. We did eat out the restaurant over the road looks quiet but does a cracking steak and home made soups which are well worth the money, 2 courses for 2 with drinks came to around 35 euros.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, Lancashire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed all-inclusive at the Dom Pedro Baia Hotel from 7 July to 14 July and were very pleased with this hotel. For anyone wanting a lovely establishment set in a wonderful, clean town, then this will please. The rooms are well kept and clean, the dining room is set overlooking the bay, the food is good and plentiful, and if you are lucky enough to be all-inclusive then you certainly wont need much money to spend. In fact, the local drinks around the nice pool area or at the piano bar are just fine. Coral is a decent beer, and you can have gin, rum, vodka and brandy with the appropriate mixer. Local liqueurs and cocktails too. Either beer, white or red wine is offered with meals. Live music is played every evening, the type of music most of us know, not the head-banging stuff. It probably isn't for the young and very lively, they would do best to stay in Funchal. Machico is a very clean, well-kept town set on a delightful bay and hemmed in by mountains, just a 35 minute (2.60 euros) ride by express bus to the much bigger Funchal. It is very safe to stroll in Machico at night. We did so every night after dinner and we truly loved this beautiful town in Madeira. We will be back, for sure. Mike & Sue.

  • Liked — Clean and so relaxing! Loved sitting around the pool area.
  • Disliked — Nothing really. It was exactly what we wanted.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club

Address: Estrada De Sao Roque | Estrada de São Roque, nº5, Machico, Madeira 9200-126, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2004 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club Madeira/Machico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.