We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Casco

Restaurante O Casco
Rua do Ribeirinho, Machico, Madeira 9200-102, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Machico
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Iver, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I was impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We ordered the daily menu which was a choice of Roast Chicken or Steak, so we chose one of each, unfortunately my chicken was not to my liking, the owner asked if all was okay to which I replied not really as felt the chicken was a little dry, he offered to change my meal but I didnt want to cause a fuss.
He took my meal away and came straight back to ask if he could get me anything else instead so I re-ordered and had the steak which was absolutely delicious.
The point to my review is that he was so helpful and didnt want me to leave unsatisfied, I wish all restaurants could be as nice as this. Thanks again.
Also another point - the music was great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just enjoyed a fantastic meal here tonight. The cubed beef on a spit was simply some of the best and tender meat ever tasted with a really tasty homemade garlic bread for starters. The fish and banana, although it seemed to me to be a strange combination, really worked and was absolutely delicious. The service was friendly and everything was thoroughly enjoyable. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Like home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had almost every meal on Casco. Felt like home, the food was great and the prices... Super!!!! "Prego no bolo do caco" was my favourite!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Friendly. Tasty. Authentic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

When we came to O Casco on Sunday evening there were just a couple of tourists, all other visitors were locals. That's exactly what you expect from the place in a small town when you want to know it better - the food is local and very nice (espada com banana was delicious as well as bife de casa), the waiter was very friendly (though with a very strict face :)) and helpful. When I told that I study portugues he even gave me a good chance to practice )
It's a small restaurant + a pub in a barrel (o casco), so having your dinner first then you can move to the 'barrel' which is also very nice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The food is great and the staff extremely friendly. I had the "picado", chunks of meat with ships in a wine sauce- to die for! I highly recommend this place and the garllic bread and house red are great too!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Casco also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante O Casco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Casco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.