We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastronomic Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Casco

O Casco
Rua Do Ribeirinho, 2 | 2, Machico, Madeira 9200, Portugal
291962150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Machico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant large , rustic and welcoming, serving regional cuisine . It offers a nice covered terrace .
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just enjoyed a fantastic meal here tonight. The cubed beef on a spit was simply some of the best and tender meat ever tasted with a really tasty homemade garlic bread for starters. The fish and banana, although it seemed to me to be a strange combination, really worked and was absolutely delicious. The service was friendly and everything was thoroughly enjoyable. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Like home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had almost every meal on Casco. Felt like home, the food was great and the prices... Super!!!! "Prego no bolo do caco" was my favourite!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Friendly. Tasty. Authentic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

When we came to O Casco on Sunday evening there were just a couple of tourists, all other visitors were locals. That's exactly what you expect from the place in a small town when you want to know it better - the food is local and very nice (espada com banana was delicious as well as bife de casa), the waiter was very friendly (though with a very strict face :)) and helpful. When I told that I study portugues he even gave me a good chance to practice )
It's a small restaurant + a pub in a barrel (o casco), so having your dinner first then you can move to the 'barrel' which is also very nice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The food is great and the staff extremely friendly. I had the "picado", chunks of meat with ships in a wine sauce- to die for! I highly recommend this place and the garllic bread and house red are great too!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Casco also viewed

 

Been to O Casco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Casco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.