We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay and we will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Waters Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added White Waters Hotel to your Saves list
White Waters Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praceta 25 de Abril, Machico, Madeira 9200-084, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Bristol
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Second stay and we will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

As before, the hotel was spotless and was kept that way, all the staff were wonderfull, the situation is almost ideal, with the beach only a few hundred meters away, loads of bars and resturants nearby, the bus station a few minutes away, with Funchal 30 to 40 minutes away by bus,(and thelocal bus ride back in the evening is a ride that Alton Towers should try to copy). The night club across the road was not a problem last time we were here in late January, but was an annoyance on the Friday and Saturday nights this time.
Highly reccomend the resturant "Mare Alta" on the sea front that also has superb staff.
My only real complaint is that Madeira is blessed with superb fresh seafood, but is very unimanigitive with it.. Everywhere all it seems you can get is grilled - or fried - fish. Where are the sauces made with wine, artichokes, chillies, olives, etc. etc. ?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
73
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We spent a fantastic few days at this hotel. We would definitely recomend this hotel to everyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Funchal!!!!
The owners and staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. We had no problem getting to sleep over the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.hants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

lovely hotel....shame about the nightclub opposite .BE WARNED..we stayed a sunday night and got no sleep after 12.30am.had coffee with the night porter at 5am .and saw a wonderful sunrise..we were joined by other tired and unhappy guests
we would say its a lovely hotel very chic shame we had to cancel our other nights stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a great little hotel which was up to the standard for a 3 star rating. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room (if a little short of storage space), good restaurant. Machio is a pleasant, uncrowded little town which is a good base for touring the island.

The only negative is the location of a nearby night club which led to a lot of noise in the street as people left. Luckily the club is only open at weekends but 2 sleepless nights was 2 too many. This would not stop us from returning to the hotel but would check to see if the noise was still a problem before doing so.

I hope things improve as the hotel deserves more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Just returned from a fantastic week in Machico. I can only imagine the hotel misses out on 4* rating because of lack of pool but there is a lovely beach close by. There is noise at night at the weekend but the hotel is petitioning to try to stop it. They are very concerned for their guests comfort. Well worth a drive or taxi to Restaurant San Christovo on the Portelo road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We arrived for our week long stay in Machico on the Monday evening tired and weary, the Hotel looked perfect, our room was lovely, the staff were welcoming and friendly, we tumbled into bed and slept until next morning.
Up bright and early for breakfast, which was good, fruit juice, coffee, corn flakes or fruit and fibre, yoghurt, choice of fresh fruit, bananas(if you're up early), apples, oranges and kiwi fruit. Sliced white bread for toasting, two types of bread roll, seeded or plain white, plus jams and honey, the only disappointing aspect was that the cheese and ham offered were the cheap square shaped type, tasteless, would have been nice to see better quality, some salami also, obviously not square.
The Hotel has it's own restaurant which is ok, I did eat there on one occasion, was a little disappointed that the seafood used in the seafood spaghetti was fozen rather than fresh and that it included cut up crab sticks, but it was fine and not unpleasant.
There are a few local restaurants to dine at throughout the day, although the menus are all pretty much the same, soup, omlette, fish, meat, pasta, salad.
Avoid the restaurant opposite the hotel with the strange orange warning light flashing above the door, bad food even worse service, staff rude and aggressive, clearly not interested in visitors, didn't eat there myself, but spoke with a few people who had.
The week in Machico was perfect up until Friday night. What the hotel brochure and website doesn't tell you is that the hotel is opposite a nightclub, people start to arrive at the nightclub between around 00.30 and 02.30 hours, there is a great deal of traffic in the small area outside the hotel, the late night revellers enjoy their evening both in and outside of the nightclub, laughing, singing, drinking, urinating, sharing marajuana joints, listening to their music blasting from their car stereo systems, until finally at 07.20 they head off home exhausted, needing sleep, before they are refreshed and ready to do it all again that night.
This went on for three nights each week, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, although Sunday they left a little earlier at 06.30, they must have work later. It was an absolute nightmare. Obviously the guests at the hotel got no sleep whatsover for those three nights, personally on the final Sunday night of my holiday, I resorted to trying to sleep on one of the sofas on the landing of the hotel, as the noise was too much to bear. A few of the guests ended up shouting at the local youth from their balconies, pleading with them to be quiet, but it fell on deaf, drunk, stoned ears.
The hotel rooms are not air conditioned, as described on the website, therefore when hot weather, it is absolutely necessary to have your window open. Hence the noise levels, although when the windows were closed, the noise was still too much.
When I enquired about the air-con, it was explained to me that the hotel had in fact paid for the air conditioning to be installed, but the contractors had not finished the job, and a legal argument had been ongoing for the past two years, it is no closer to a resolution presently.
I was also informed that the hotel owners and local residents had been complaining about the nightclub and the noise for some time, including solicitors letters etc, but to no avail, the police were regularly contacted but did not show any interest, although during the day they were out in force, distributing parking tickets to anyone that they could catch in the act of exceeding their metered time limits.
In all the hotel is very good throughout the week, and if they tended to the minor details,ie, improved the quality of breakfast, stopped allowing local youths to take over the tea garden/patio during the evenings for poker games, installed air conditioning, then they would easily be worthy of four, possibly even a five star rating for B & B.
Sadly, all the good work by the courtious and hospitable staff and owners, is overshadowed by the horrendous weekends inflicted upon them by the clientelle of the local nightspot. The staff could not have been more apologetic and acknowledge that this is an ongoing issue, but are helpless to do anything about it.
I would stay here again, but definately not at a weekend, such a shame.
The strange thing is that I really don't understand how this has not been mentioned in any of the other reviews, it is such a problem, that if I was the owner I would be seriously worried about how much this would affect my business, I have noticed and now understand, why the room rates are much cheaper for the fri, sat, sun stays.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at White Waters for our first night and last night in Madeira. Fantastic hotel - clean and very helpful staff. The town of Machico is a quaint little town and has lots of fabulous little streets filled with restaurants and stores. We even caught a lovely village festival on our last night - it was great fun. The location of this hotel is very good - close to the airport and easy access to main roads. We will definately visit again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Hotel

Address: Praceta 25 de Abril, Machico, Madeira 9200-084, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters is a small family run 3 star hotel. It is located in the very heart of Machico, a small town that has retained its very unique feel of the old, and together with the new, it has a very unique appeal. It is in this setting that White Waters is found. All our rooms are equipped with modern amenities, and all have balconies facing the sea. Our restaurant offers our guests both local and internacional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your White Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Waters
White Waters Machico
White Waters Hotel Madeira/Machico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Waters Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.