We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside fool you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shuck's

A W Shuck's
2200 Colonial Ave, Norfolk, VA 23517
(757) 664-9117
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 621 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We drove all day til we arrived at 10:30pm. We ate there by default (all the other restaurants we wanted to try closed at either 9 it 10pm) but because of my fellow tripadvisor and their reviews, I stood firm and announced to my skeptical family members, "yes, we are eating here."
The Rockfish was cooked to perfection, and creatively cooked w butter beans and fingerling potatoes. Mac and cheese I heard so much about lives to its reputation. My jambalaya was not true form but they did their spin on it and it had a more soup then what I woul have liked but the fish that was blackened on top and seasoning overall was amazing. The batter on fish for fish and chips were light and baked golden. Just overall amazing. We would have happily paid (and would have in more in a fancier place) but feeding a family of 5 with 2 apps, main entrees, wine and 2 beers- amazing at 150 bucks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere. Not a very big place, but that's perfect. Ordered the bounty sampler, loved, loved it!! Ate there twice the week I stayed in Norfolk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Visiting area from Gaithersburg, Md.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife loves Crab/Lobster and the all you can eat special was perfect, she loved it.

I had a Burger and it was very good. Loved the Beer selection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“says something when the last review is over a year old”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am a regular eat at Bars in Norfolk single guy and enjoy many in particular Press 626 on corner of Olney and Colley in Ghent and the new Colley Cantina. I have travelled half the world, seen some fine service and some not so fine. On Sunday night I went to AW Shucks with a group of 6-7 we were served by a bar tender who I was told was "the Best" must have been having a bad day. QUITE HONESTLY MY WORST EXPERIENCE IN A BAR WORLDWIDE. I was so angry I left before an incident occurred leaving $90 for a bill that may have run to $25, requesting my friends be taken care of. Apparently he took it as a tip for the good service!! Hope he uses it to pay for laundry, a clean up and perhaps bar tending school.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very Popular and Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was with a party of three and we arrived about 5 o'clock. It was quite crowded and we were given a 30 minute wait. While in the waiting foyer we ordered drinks. I, being a Guinness fan, was disappointed finding out they didn't serve it however please to learn they had Murphy's (from Cork Ireland) Stout in the can that contained the "nitrogen widget" giving it a very good draught taste. Once we were seated service was prompt and recommendations on meals were excellent. I had the crab cakes which were very good (not the best I have ever had but still good). But I also had the Malpeque Oysters for the first time and I must say they are now my favorite oyster on the half shell.

It was a fun place with good food and I learned two good lessons: 1) Murphy Stout is a good substitute for Guinness and 2) Malpeque Oysters have to be the best oyster I have ever had!

I wouldn't hesitate recommending A. W. Shucks to anyone and certainly hope I have a chance to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shuck's also viewed

 

Been to A W Shuck's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shuck's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.