We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood in Ghent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shuck's

A W Shuck's
2200 Colonial Ave, Norfolk, VA 23517
(757) 664-9117
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 621 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Seafood in Ghent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The raw oysters are expensive and indoor seating is crowded and noisy. I find the rest of the menu is hit or miss. The outdoor seating is nice in the summer for lunch

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit and Many More ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent seafood selections both from a variety and quality perspective. Everything was prepared fresh. Great selection of local draft beers. They offerred several types of fresh oysters and listed them on a chalkboard because they change daily. Since we will be visiting Norfolk more often than in the past, AW Shucks will definitely be visited again on each trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food... Not enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went after reading the reviews, I expected a little more food for the money but it was good. The staff was friendly ill return just not on a Friday night it was to packed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Silly Good!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Visited here after reading reviews.. Those reviews didn't do this restaurant justice! I had the crab cakes with macaroni and cheese and the tomato with feta salad. The macaroni and cheese was the best I've ever had. The tomato and feta salad was good not what I was expecting but yummy. And the crab cakes were spectacular!! Full of tasty crab and little filler perfect!! The bartender Nancy was full of great suggestions. Best meal I've eaten out in quite!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More of a Bar!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I do not understand how this place can be rated one of the top restaurants in town, it is more of a local hangout where you go have a drink with your friends, therefore food it is not priority #1, very overspiced and lots of greasy fried food, very loud bar ambiance in a shady part of town, definitely not a place for kids or who enjoys a nice relaxed dinner.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shuck's also viewed

 

Been to A W Shuck's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shuck's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.