We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 East Little Creek Road, Norfolk, VA 23518   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
richmond, va
1 review
“Don't stay here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Where do I start? It should have been a sign when they gave me my remote control to the television at the desk and also people asking for their money back once the checked in. Being that it was late we decided to stay since we only needed the room for a couple of hours. Trust me when I say I won't be going back and have put them on my "No Return" list. For the amount of money you spend you can add a couple of more dollars for a better hotel. This motel needs major upgrades!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Public Relations & Reservation Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2009
So sorry you were not satisfied but....the tv remotes are kept at the front desk for your convienence. When you are tired and it's late, who wants to spend time searching in an unfamiliar environment trying to find the remote. Most of our guests agree that it's wonderful to have it in hand when entering the room.
Yes you do have the occasional person who requests a refund, after they've been in the room long enough to take a shower,etc....without any problems. This is not acceptable at any motel I know of.

This is an older property, but it has a nostalgic advantage that others do not, you can park right in front of your room, and walk only about 10 ft to your door, this can be an advantage.

No, we are not a 4 star hotel, but the prices are not reflective of such. Instead we are quite economical,and you get a no frills, modern, clean room to stay in. All that need be done is ask, and we will do our very best to accomodate your requests.
We hope you will consider a second stay for us to attempt to correct your unpleasant mindset of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
9
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

I arrived in town to visit family without a reservation and I looked at a few motels as I drove from the interstate, some of them were expensive. I came across this one close to where I needed to be. The motel wasalso close to shops and restaurants, only three minutes from the Norfolk International Airport. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very reasonably priced, next time I will make a reservation because I will be back, I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Such a dissappointment!

This hotel is in an area that I didn’t feel safe. They put us in a room overlooking a parking lot and also had a door locked that ajoined to another room. We heard so much noise from the other room. My question is who would put someone in that situation when they are staying almost a week? Very noisy, dirty place in a not-so-safe area. Getting two extra pillows took 2 days. Tried getting a cup of coffee at the continental breakfast. Didn’t happen. Everything was empty 1/2 hour before it closed! This hotel does not deserve even 1 star!!! Very disappointing. I booked this hotel because of all the good reviews I read on the internet. Do not stay here!

  • Liked — It is close to shopping and dining
  • Disliked — The room smelled horrible
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C. Metro Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

A great place to stay, this hotel is near all major highways (264 & 64)and shopping (Military Highway Mall & Janaff Shopping Center).

The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and clean!
Free continental breakfast every morning, friendly staff, pool, jacuzzi (outdoor not open in the winter); perfect for the entire family.

The hotel does feature a steakhouse.....the food service is poor, the interior was dark and drab, and the food is over priced. Luckily, there are many restaurants close by.


Jeaneen Bodie
Wyld N Wunderful Travel & Entertainment

  • Liked — The value!
  • Disliked — The hotel restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1850 East Little Creek Road, Norfolk, VA 23518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Americas Best Value Inn in Norfolk, Virginia. We are conveniently located across from a shopping center with food shops and restaurants. Our charming six story facility with exterior corridors offers 59 spacious guest rooms and efficiencies. All our guest rooms are furnished with Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Cable TV with HBO, and Wakeup Service. All our Efficiencies are furnished with Kitchenettes. We also have a Guest Laundromat, and a Fax facility on-site. We welcome you to enjoy our crystal clear Outdoor Swimming Pool and our free daily continental breakfast. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours to better serve your needs. Come in and check out the friendly hospitality and the clean rooms we provide our Guests. Whether you are in the area for business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.