We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over all review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 East Little Creek Road, Norfolk, VA 23518   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
“Over all review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very close to airport and 45 minutes from VA beach. Loads of shopping around and restaurants for any occasion. The hotel had a nice clean outdoor pool. Our stay was pleasant and all our needs were met by nice pleasant staff. We were even able to have our dog stay with us which was what we were looking for in a hotel. They had a very nice continental breakfast bar in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget needing a nice pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Emma R,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share an honest review with us. Our guests enjoy our clean outdoor pool. Our facility is pet-friendly and I am glad that you were satisfied. Should you return to the area, we would love the opportunity to serve you again.



Regards,
Sanjive-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with our 2 young sons and really enjoyed it. As others mentioned it's not fancy but is very clean and has a great location. We liked being able to open the balcony door and walk right out to the fresh air. The boys loved the fact that their favorite restaurants and shops were just footsteps away. The staff was amazing and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear NiranjanB_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I am sorry for taking so long to respond. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and convenient location. Our balcony rooms offer a great view of the area. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.


Regards,
Sanjive-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We needed a hotel close to the airport for business reasons. Our stay was over an extended period, so we found this hotel close-by near restaurants, shops and business centers. The price was reasonable, the service was excellent. Continental breakfast was better than we expected. Wi Fi worked and if we needed anything all you have to do is just ask the friendly staff who are available 24 hours.

For the age of the building, everything worked; it is well kept and has clean spacious rooms. Has very little public space.

Room Tip: Don't ask for the cheapest room. If price is an issue ! it is a budget hotel, ask for the best a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear San59boy,

On behalf of the management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally thank you for sharing a review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our reasonable rates and convenient location. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.



Regards,
Sanjive-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I made a reservation for this hotel on July 4th. Then after reading all the nasty reviews of this hotel I cancelled the reservation. Mind you I cancelled it within an hour of making it. Five days later I had a nights stay taken out of my bank account. I contacted the main hotel guest sight and explained why I cancelled it plus I also commented on the nastieness of their hotels. Even about the one we stayed at in Williamsburg Va. Her comment was you read the cancellation policy and you cancelled after the 2 day cancellaton policy. I will forward to the hotel to see if they will do the no show policy. Obviously if you don't show the you are charged less than if you cancel your reservation. Never once did she appologize for their nasty hotels. Or did she say she was sorry. And I have never gotten a response for the hotel manager. My advice stay away from Americas Best Value Inn. They don't care about their customers at all. Nor do they care about the upkeep of their hotels. Cheap yea but totally nasty.

Room Tip: Just stay away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Digidashi2000,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with us. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to cancel your reservations within the 48 hour policy timeframe. We do take your concerns seriously. We take great pride in our facilities and do our best to maintain them. We regret that we were not given an opportunity to let you experience this for yourself. Had you expressed your concerns with us, we would have gladly addressed those to ensure a memorable experience.


Regards,
Angela Kapoor
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

this motel is horrible.......this is like worst motel i ever seen in my life. they charge extra for wi-fi and front desk clark is so rude never ever stay in this motel even though i have to pay more.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Denna M,

I am concerned about the WIFI issues you encountered during your stay. We do provide free WIFI service for our guests. There is no charge to use this service. Are you sure that you have the right location as we have several Americas Best Value Inns in the area? Please let us know so that we can address the issue.


Regards,
Angela-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place is a dump and obviously a flop house! Got out of there as fast as we could and was charged a 20% penalty for checking out early!!! Was told when we checked in there was no penalty for early check out! Nasty - didn't notice that their vending machine sold condoms until the next morning - what the heck is that! Bad neighborhood also - drunks and less than desirable people walking around the place at all hours of the night! PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This motel featured the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on, among other problems. The mattress was so bad that I wound up taking two triple doses of pain medication just to get a couple hours sleep. The towels and linens were old and threadbare. Despite being advertised, there was no free wifi at this motel. The walls were thin, with noise from other guests coming in one wall and noise from the neighboring trailer park coming in the other wall. The continental breakfast was sparse, as was the space where it was served. There was a smattering of positive notes. Everything was clean, and the staff was polite. But there was too much wrong with this motel to ever consider it again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear MikeBHR,

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I am sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience. We have upgraded our WIFI service in order to better serve our guests. We do maintain our mattresses on a regular basis. We regret that we were not able to meet your needs.

Regards,
Angela-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1850 East Little Creek Road, Norfolk, VA 23518
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Americas Best Value Inn in Norfolk, Virginia. We are conveniently located across from a shopping center with food shops and restaurants. Our charming six story facility with exterior corridors offers 59 spacious guest rooms and efficiencies. All our guest rooms are furnished with Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Cable TV with HBO, and Wakeup Service. All our Efficiencies are furnished with Kitchenettes. We also have a Guest Laundromat, and a Fax facility on-site. We welcome you to enjoy our crystal clear Outdoor Swimming Pool and our free daily continental breakfast. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours to better serve your needs. Come in and check out the friendly hospitality and the clean rooms we provide our Guests. Whether you are in the area for business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.