We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend away, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Page House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Page House Inn
323 Fairfax Ave, Norfolk, VA 23507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“great weekend away, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in Missy Hulda's Room over the President's Day holiday weekend. We called ahead to ask about check-in times and they told us we could check in whenever. We arrived at around 5:00 pm and found parking in the back of the house. We were greeted at the door by the owner who showed us around the house. There are two parlors in the front of the house, one with cookies and one with port. There are bowls of candy and fruit on all floors as well as baskets of snacks and a refrigerator with sodas and juice boxes.
Our room was on the third floor and the owner helped us carry our bags up the stairs. It was roomy with a skylight, an interesting bathtub/shower, a huge bed and robes in the closet.
Each day you will find a blue menu reservation on your bed where you select your breakfast time and whether you will be dining in the dining room or in your room, then you leave it on the dining room table the evening before. You are given the option of breakfast in the dining room with the other guests at one large dining room table or the sleepy head breakfast in bed, a huge continental selection of yogurt, cheese, fresh fruit salad, and a good selection of small pastries.
On the first morning we had breakfast in the dining room and had the same heavy continental breakfast as the breakfast in bed, plus scrambled eggs with cheese, breakfast potatoes and bacon. On the second morning we opted to have breakfast in our room.
The bed was huge and comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was good and got hot immediately and the room and bathroom were clean. Don't forget to close the curtains before bed if you like to sleep in.
There is a second floor garden terrace with lounge chairs, comfortable chairs on the porch and a few benches in the yard but the weather kept us inside.
The Page House is located in historic Ghent which is close to shops, dining and many old homes. The weather was too cold for us to walk around outside but we took advantage of the neighborhood by car.
I would recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    3
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as my wife and I interviewed at the Children's Hospital. The inn keeper, Debbie, made us feel right at home from the start and we had continued incredible service throughout our stay (the Bath Suite is top notch!). If we relocate to the Norfolk area, we will certainly spend another night or two at Page House!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city & palm beach gardens Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We return to New York each spring; we stumbled onto this inn by chance and have returned three times. Each time it was a welcome respite for the drive. We even stayed an extra unplanned nite, as we enjoyed the inn, the dining and the marvelous museum within walking distance. What an unexpected charming little victorian area, within this city. The arts museum features tiffany glass and well worth the day. We also went up to the naval yard. But mostly we love the local restaurants; as sophisticated as any we have found on our trips.

Room Tip: we stayed in 3 different rooms and they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in the large downstairs suite. It was splendid. Guests at breakfast (and quite a fun and eclectic group) all liked their lodgings. The breakfasts are hearty, with a different dish served each morning. We walked downtown from the B&B. We will be staying again this year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in quite a few B&B's but this is by far the most beautiful! Service was wonderful and breakfast was cooked made to order and outstanding. We stayed in the bathe suite and it was well worth the money. We will be going back!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When I stay at a B&B, the innkeeper usually is all about sweetness and light, providing a calm, pleasant, gracious, relaxing presence. They provide the first impression and are the source of local information, travel tips, and of course food and hospitality. That was not quite the experience we had at the Page House Inn.
The house itself is stunningly beautiful, and well located for a visit to the waterfront area, the Ghent District, or Old Dominion University. It is meticulously decorated, filled with history and charm, and has all the little touches - port in the parlor, sherry in the living room, cookies and chocolates and treats on every end table. Glasses, wine bottle openers, refrigerators, and many other conveniences are available.
Our room was just as lovingly decorated, on the third floor (Master Percy). It had two twin beds converted to a king that was quite comfortable. My only issues with the room were the somewhat cramped shower, and the huge skylight right over the bed that made it impossible to sleep in - no way to hide from the light!
Breakfast was well done - not the best B&B breakfast I have ever had, but well done, and if anything, it was nice to not have a huge over the top meal.
However, our experience would have been a little better if our hostess had dialed back the acerbic, snarky, sharp-tongued humor. I don't consider stories about rude guests, complaints about being tired, or other grousing to be appropriate to ensuring a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. Maybe I just have a different idea of Southern hospitality?
Again, the house itself was gorgeous and all in all we had a terrific stay in Norfolk.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if there is a skylight or any other windows that cannot be covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent 1 night in this inn. It was everything I would want in a bed and breakfast. The room was spacious, the bathroom up to date and the innkeeper was extremely friendly. When we checked in, she took us on a tour of the facility. Not only was she friendly, but she was very professional. Breakfast was very good and in addition, there was afternoon lemonade and cocktails in the early evening. We would definitely return

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Page House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Page House Inn

Address: 323 Fairfax Ave, Norfolk, VA 23507
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Page House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Page House Inn to your Saves list