We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest room in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1511 USAA Drive, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Allen, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cleanest room in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

After changin hotels several times on our previous visit my wife and I decided to try the Hampton Inn. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly. We plan on staying here on our next visit to Norfolk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel!!! We are very grateful you stayed with us and we work very hard to maintain a very high standard for our guests. We understand that the way to attract guests and to keep them is to meet and exceed their expectations. We are so happy we have a new and valued customer and welcome to the Hampton Inn family. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    60
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
57
20
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solomons, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

So nice to be greeted by a friendly helpful person. Nice rooms, close to airport and highway. Very quiet, didn't hear air or road traffic. sorry I did not have time to enjoy the indoor pool or treadmills which looked nice. Easy parking. Safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you from the team at the Hampton Inn and suites… We are so happy you had a great stay and enjoyed yourself. It’s so important that we made you feel at home in a nice safe comfortable room. We take these reviews ti heart and use them to make ourselves a better place for our guests to enjoy. So thank you so much and please come see us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Friendly staff, clean hotel, comfortable bed, hot shower, sufficient amount of food for breakfast. Quick drive to the airport in the shuttle, driver was friendly. Seems to be an older property – door in bathroom didn't close all of the way, and some fixtures were loosely hanging from the wall. Flushing toilets in other rooms sounded like they were in our room. These minor oddities were acceptable, though. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you and your family for taking the time to send us such a kind review. We have a wonderful team here and I am so happy they provided you with outstanding service. I am sorry that you found some maintenance problems during your stay, our maintenance Chief engineer will identify them and get them quickly repaired. It is kind guests like yourself that help us maintain the standard you and our guests deserve. Thank you so much and please come and see us soon !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massanutten, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Beautiful room, up-to-date gadgets are always fun (clock radio with iPod adaptor, laptop table, high-quality HD TV). Plenty of outlets which many hotels do not have. LOVE the pillows - slept extremely well. Good location with lots around the area (restaurants, shopping). Easy on/off route 64.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Great!!! Hampton Inns are just the best when it comes to making sure our guests have what they need to do business or just relax and have fun… Our bedding is one of our best features Clean, White and comfy “Just the Best”. We look forward to you coming back and visiting us and thank you again for your kind thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Staff were friendly enough for sure. Rooms and food in the morning was good as well. Typical Hampton Inn - which is just fine. We were directed where to eat at the Hilton (I think that is right) where service was tremendously slow. We stayed here pre-cruise and this is definitely not a town that runs on cruise traffic - no one knew how much a cab was to the cruise port or if there were any alternate ways to the cruise port. It was ok - we finally found out - roughly $25 from the hotel to cruise port and $27 from cruise port back to the airport.

Again, things typical Hampton - which is not bad at all - that is why we choose them - but nothing over the top special either. Not really close to anything - shops, restaurants or convenience stores - so if these things are important - I would select a different hotel location. If you need clean, comfy place to stay with free breakfast - this is for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am sorry we seem to have disappointed you and for that I am truly sorry. We do get some cruise passengers but as you deducted not a lot of traffic in that area. We will work on getting more information so we are better prepared for cruise passengers who may be staying with us. Our location is very convenient for most locations but without a vehicle it can be a little difficult on foot because of the traffic in the area. I do not recommend it because of the limited sidewalks and fast moving traffic. Next time inquire about our shuttle. Again sorry we did not make your stay the best but we will work to correct the shortcomings you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This Hampton is a really nice hotel. Great service and great rooms. The front desk team was awesome and very helpful. The breakfast and lobby area's are very nice too. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much I hope your trip home was uneventful. I know you such a long drive ahead of you. It was such a pleasure having you and your family here with us. I am glad were able to provide such great service, I am glad you mentioned the front desk team here they work so hard to make sure everyone has everything they need and their expectations are meet and exceeded. I hope your well and we see you gain!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am a Hampton Rewards member and usually try to book a Hilton hotel when traveling. This Hampton was very comfortable and very convenient. The rooms are usually consistent. Comfortable beds, big bathroom, and very clean. There is always breakfast service from 6am to 10am for family travelers and or business. This is something that I appreciate because of its convenience. There is always some type of eggs, protein, waffle, cereal, oatmeal, etc. The Hampton also provides a daily paper which is another nice detail. This Hampton was quiet and very accommodating. I recommend it when in Norfolk.

Room Tip: There is an internal pool so I would not reccomend staying near it if possible. One side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind thoughts and for staying with us. We truly appreciate your comments it helps stay on track to meet and exceed our guests expectations. We pride ourselves on making a commitment to our guests to give them the best we can at all times. The Hampton brand is truly a sure bet when you travel with family or on business and we take a tremendous amount of pride in the brand and our hotel. I will pass your thoughts on to our team here and I hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport

Address: 1511 USAA Drive, Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#1 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hampton Inn And Suites Norfolk-Airport
Hampton Inn Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.