We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1511 USAA Drive, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
nashville, United States
1 review
“Good value and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton Inn because it was so close to the airport and we had an early flight. The check in clerk was very nice. We checked in really late and he upgraded us to a suite. He was very friendly and the room was great. We left really early but they had a to-go breakfast to give to everyone leaving early. We Didn't get to use any of the amenities but the little bit we saw, everything looked nice. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much your kind words mean so much to us…; I do remember you as a matter of fact and was very happy to be able to assist you. I have been here at the hotel for a short time and am so amazed how great our guests are it makes it so easy to be accommodating and provide great service. We have such a great place here and the people are the best. So you come back to us next time and enjoy the pool and the breakfast and have a great year!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    47
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
14
21
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

management is very nice. I experienced a few issues but they were doing their best to help fix it. Ive seen nicer hampton inns, but this wasnt the worst by any means. I am very loyal to Hilton (Diamond member). Manager was very nice and willing to take care of me. Breakfast was not the best. They need to work on that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. I am so glad to receive input like this, it’s important to know what we do right and where we are not hitting the mark. Our management and team here work very hard to ensure our guests are satisfied with their stay. The Hampton 100% satisfaction guarantee is something we proactively use as one of our avenues to ensure guest satisfaction. I am happy to say we do not need to exercise it frequently because of our great management and staff. We continue to initiate programs and training to make us a better hotel and live up and exceed of guests expectations. THank you gain for your comments we are working on improvement from your comments as we speak. Have a great year and come and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hampton Inns are consistently one of the best motels to stay with. The service and accomodationa have always been extremely satisfactory. Given the many choices I always look for a Hampton Inn whenever possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front desk supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Hamptons Inns are a very service orientated and our customer service is one of top qualities. All personnel are extensively trained for working at a Hampton Inn and being a member of the Hilton family of Hotels we have a tremendous standard to live up to and exceed. I hope you have a successful year and hope we have you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

While my stay was comfortable I stayed at this hotel due to there being no pets allowed. I have severe allergies. Imagine my surprise when I go to the elevators on my floor and run into a lady with a little "rat dog" and she says its a service dog-what kind of service could this little thing provide. I asked at desk if they keep track of the rooms "service dogs" stay in and they don't. I am not guaranteed a safe environment and might as well pay 1/3 of the price to stay in a hotel that allows pets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
I am sorry for your inconvenience during your stay… We have strong constraints in regard to service animals. I have copied some items from the Americans with Disabilities act and posted them in this response to your comments.
Under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), privately owned businesses that serve the public, such as restaurants, hotels, retail stores, taxicabs, theaters, concert halls, and sports facilities, are prohibited from discriminating against individuals with disabilities. The ADA requires these businesses to allow people with disabilities to bring their service animals onto business premises in whatever areas customers are generally allowed
Although a number of states have programs to certify service animals, you may not insist on proof of state certification before permitting the service animal to accompany the person with a disability.
These regulations apply to all hotels and public areas with regard to service animals all hotels must allow service animals to provide them with the same hospitality and service as all our guests. We are extremely happy to be able to help all our guests. I am sorry that your experience was not the best during your stay because of this, The rooms are expertly cleaned after all guests check out of hotel and we have never had a negative incident providing the best service we can to our disabled guests with service animals. I thank you for your concern and hope this helps you understand the role our hotels plays making everyone’s stay here pleasant and safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

When checking in, we requested a cot. Seeing as it didn't easily fit in the standard room, we were moved to an accessible room, which had plenty of room to accommodate us all. Great service, going above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. Very much appreciated!

The room was clean, though it could use a bit of a refresh on the finishing touches, but overall, it did the job.

Location wise, it's located just a short drive from Virginia Beach (but way more reasonably priced), central between Williamsburg, Va Beach, Norfolk, and the Chesapeake bridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you and again thank you!!!! Your comments are so kind really makes me proud to be part of the team here at the Hampton inn and Suites… Our team here is truly cares and tries to help people as much as we can. We are a great location for almost all of the Hampton roads area. I know I am biased but we all believe we are the best hotel in Norfolk. I am glad to see by review your travels were safe and successful. We hope to see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you're looking for something close to the Norfolk International Airport, the Hampton Inn is the prime choice. Comfortable rooms, a great morning breakfast and quick access to all the major routes going north or south of Norfolk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review!!!! We are happy you had a great time at our hotel and enjoyed yourself. We have such a super location we are seconds from interstate 64 and only 19 minutes to the beach, which is one of the many reasons we are a sure bet for a great stay. We also have the great Hampton standard which we try to exceed at all times. We hope to see you soon and have great year!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hampton Inn continues its consistent high quality, affordable accommodations. I stay in Hampton Inns all over the US and found this one to be good. I would recommend it for anyone staying in the Norfolk, VA area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan K, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for recommending us!!! It’s great we were able to maintain the very high Hampton standard for you. Your comments really capture Hampton Inns commitment to our guests and the values we know are important to you. I know that the team here works very hard to maintain and exceed our guest’s needs and expectations. Thanks for letting us know we are on track and continue to enjoy your summer. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Norfolk-Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hampton Inn Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn
Address: 1511 USAA Drive, Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.