We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun lunch place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Field Guide

Field Guide
429 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Restaurant details
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great food in a hipster atmosphere. Very urban. The decor is somewhere between urban outfitters and pottery barn. The food is another story. Really terrific. I had the rice bowl with curry. Yum! My friends had a salad, chicken salad sandwich and BBQ. The sweet potato chips were fabulous! Best of all was the service. Really great team! Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We met another couple for dinner here while visiting the area. The restaurant has a unique atmosphere, with a large, open garage door facing the street and communal tables. We easily found a place for the four of us to sit on a Friday around 6. The food was unique and tasty. We started with homemade sweet potato chips (one order was enough for four). I had the Privateer sandwich, which was good (and very messy). My husband ordered the chili fish rice bowl and said it was good. We both agreed that while our dinners were good, it wasn't anything we would come back for.
Our other issue was with our server. He barely spoke to us, we had to ask for him to take our order and refill our drinks. It was just a little odd, and the other couple with us, who have been to Field Guide before, said usually it isn't like that.
Overall, a fun little place to try and maybe we'll try it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“eclectic and tasty sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

the wife and I went for a date night stroll down Granby and stopped in for a bite and cocktail. it's a very unique spot with some pretty cool decor (especially the wooden wall art). I was very pleased with my chuck roast (Privateer) sandwich which had a really good sauce on it. the wife got a big old thick slice of meatloaf that came with mac and cheese plus a side of greens, all of which was delicious. i ordered a hard arnold, which was something different, but i thought it probably a little too much ginger flavor and i regretted not getting the cherry soda and bourbon after tasting my wife's drink. the seating doesn't really lend itself to an intimate date night, but they're more about the downtown community scene as you can tell by the standing bar which is open to the street.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Greatest lunch I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My friend and I went here for the first time and were instantly impressed by the cool atmosphere. Our food came out quickly and tasted fresh and hot. I added bacon to the Noodlefoot Williams, a mac and cheese sandwich, I would highly recommend doing this. My friend ordered the Privateer, a Root Beer braised beef sandwich, to which he added an over easy egg. We also ordered the curried veggies and feta slaw. Both of our meals were extremely flavorful and delicious. The staff was friendly and our overall experience was excellent. Definitely try this place out!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Urban Hip Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Shared lunch with an old friend and the vibe was urban cool and the food was updated comfort food that was quite filling. My friend is vegetarian and he suggested the place, but meat and fish dishes were plentiful as well. You order at the counter and then they bring you your food. The garage door was open on quite a nice day despite some showers during our lunch. I had the Ms. Kodiak whitefish sandwich with the Sweet Chips and both were excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Field Guide also viewed

 

Been to Field Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Field Guide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.