We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most horrible hotel ever!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Suites Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Savannah Suites Norfolk to your Saves list
Savannah Suites Norfolk
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savannah Suites Norfolk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5649 Lowery Road, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Bayonne, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most horrible hotel ever!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The rooms are dirty and smell bad. When we checked in our room looked as if someone had been living there for a while. There was clothes on the bed and floor. There was a stick of butter on the stove and personal items in the bathroom. They gave us another room that wasn't to much better. Every time the people in the next would use their bathroom sink it sound like a construction site. Our bathroom was dirty and so was the refrigerator. There is a Walmart about 2 minutes away. I had to buy cleaning products for the bathroom, towels and wash clothes. I even brought a blanket because I didn't feel comfortable laying on the sheets. All the money I spend at Walmart I could have just got a better hotel from the start. Next time I know to do better research and I don't recommend this hotel to anymore. Stay away not even for one night

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel if you want a good experience. There are two hotels next to the hotel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    3
    24
See reviews for
9
5
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at Savannah Suites Norfolk for two nights, and it was the absolute worst for several reasons.

1. The AC did NOT work. When I opened the door, there was an unwelcoming scene. The AC cover was on the ground and I could see the old, rusty inside of the AC. Maintenance came up to try to put the cover back on, but couldn't because part of the cover was broken. Maintenance told me to "just put something underneath." Even worse, I later discovered that the AC did not work. At best, it was a fan that gave off lukewarm air.

2. The bathtub drain was CLOGGED.

3. Front Desk: Unfriendly, Unprofessional, and Poor Communicators. When I called the front desk to notify that the AC did not work and that the bathtub drain was clogged, I was told that maintenance will come shortly. Fifteen minutes passed with no visit, so I called again. Then I was told, maintenance people went home and that they will make a visit the next day. The next day, maintenance did NOT make a visit.

4. This was the worst of all: my door did NOT LOCK. The door was EASILY opened from the outside. On my way out, I pushed the doorknob down to double check if it was locked. I was shocked because the door opened. The card reader thing that is supposed to function as a lock had no point.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had bed bugs the room still has them. Everytime I would brinf towels and sheets downstairs they were never clean ones. I dont unserstand how there isnt eniugh linen and towels for everyone I would wait all day for linen and towels. There are loud people fussing and fighting all night. The staff is rude at times and openly complains. I stayed until I couldnt anymore because I had no where else to go

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

It's an insult to the hotel industry for this so called establishment to be called a hotel! The room smelled like cat urine, the cupboards were dirty, the elevator did not work (and they put us up on the 4th fl with kids and my father who is handicapped) and there were flies in the room! Good thing we got a refund, even if this room was free I would still not take it! I would be more comfortable in the car!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me, the hubby and all 3 kids stayed at this hotel in Norfolk to be close to grandparents this past week. The rooms were comfortable enough and we felt safe.

The location is fantastic making it easy for us to visit the ocean front with little effort of finding the interstate and the shopping nearby was great. Wal-Mart is only five minutes away!

It was a little annoying to not have wireless, but the internet was fast and the table and chairs set near the connect made it tolerable.

Great prices is by far the biggest draw, so my family will use this hotel again when we come back to Norfolk.

Room Tip: Bring a internet cord if you plan to use the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few months for college and they were alright. The people at the desk seemed clueless all of the time. My keys happened to fall down the elevator shaft (like how does that happen?) Cause it has a huge hole between the elevator and the floor. Well that's where my keys have been for the past 2 months. They haven't tried the least bit to give me my keys back. Other than that, they're okay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afarmerss, Guest Relations Manager at Savannah Suites Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of Savannah Suites Norfolk. I trust the hotel has been in contact since your review was posted to notify you that your keys have been retrieved. I apologize for the delay and on behalf of Savannah Suites, welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very pleased with this hotel that had fridge, stove, microwave, nice size bathroom and a nice room and comfy bed.
the staff was really nice and knowledgable, most of them. the two ladies that helped us was very nice. very reasonably priced and I hoping next year when I come for my cousins wedding that we will be able to stay there again and it still be just as nice and affordable.
The one thing that will make this great is a indoor pool! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Suites Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Suites Norfolk

Address: 5649 Lowery Road, Norfolk, VA 23502
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Savannah Suites Norfolk 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Suites Extended Stay Hotel in Norfolk is conveniently located at the intersection of Military Highway and Lowery Road less than 1.5 mile I–64 and 1 mile from I-264.Our hotel is furnished with Full Kitchens, a Fitness Room, a 24 Hour Guest Laundry Room, Free High Speed Internet and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Savannah Suites Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Suites Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.