We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time & money! STAY AWAY!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Suites Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Savannah Suites Norfolk to your Saves list
Savannah Suites Norfolk
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savannah Suites Norfolk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5649 Lowery Road, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waste of time & money! STAY AWAY!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

It's an insult to the hotel industry for this so called establishment to be called a hotel! The room smelled like cat urine, the cupboards were dirty, the elevator did not work (and they put us up on the 4th fl with kids and my father who is handicapped) and there were flies in the room! Good thing we got a refund, even if this room was free I would still not take it! I would be more comfortable in the car!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    3
    24
See reviews for
9
5
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me, the hubby and all 3 kids stayed at this hotel in Norfolk to be close to grandparents this past week. The rooms were comfortable enough and we felt safe.

The location is fantastic making it easy for us to visit the ocean front with little effort of finding the interstate and the shopping nearby was great. Wal-Mart is only five minutes away!

It was a little annoying to not have wireless, but the internet was fast and the table and chairs set near the connect made it tolerable.

Great prices is by far the biggest draw, so my family will use this hotel again when we come back to Norfolk.

Room Tip: Bring a internet cord if you plan to use the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few months for college and they were alright. The people at the desk seemed clueless all of the time. My keys happened to fall down the elevator shaft (like how does that happen?) Cause it has a huge hole between the elevator and the floor. Well that's where my keys have been for the past 2 months. They haven't tried the least bit to give me my keys back. Other than that, they're okay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afarmerss, Guest Relations Manager at Savannah Suites Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of Savannah Suites Norfolk. I trust the hotel has been in contact since your review was posted to notify you that your keys have been retrieved. I apologize for the delay and on behalf of Savannah Suites, welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very pleased with this hotel that had fridge, stove, microwave, nice size bathroom and a nice room and comfy bed.
the staff was really nice and knowledgable, most of them. the two ladies that helped us was very nice. very reasonably priced and I hoping next year when I come for my cousins wedding that we will be able to stay there again and it still be just as nice and affordable.
The one thing that will make this great is a indoor pool! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

this hotel has to be the worst establishment that i have ever in my life rested my head in. First of all the staff is very unprofessional, management more so than front desk. The desk clerks seemed as if it was a burden to assist me each time i approached the desk, from check in to check out and every time in between. The lobby was poorly maintained, the elevator was down the first 3 days of my 7 night stay. It started working again for 2 days, then went back out for the remaining 2 days. The room was standard for the most part until we went to turn back the sheets and there was seemed to be a dry yellowish stain on the flat sheet. Asked the front desk if they had any new sheets and she that she had some in the dryer and that i needed to bring my dirty sheets down. NO PROBLEM... 4 hours later still no sheets. Long story short, i finally received my sheets from the NIGHT ATTENDANT at almost midnight.

Notified management the next morning of the situation (Tequila was her name i believe) she nonchalantly apologized for my inconvenience and assured me that new linen would be prepared for my room.

Later that night we had just come in from a family outing and walked into the room turned on the lights and 3 roaches went scattering.

Needed new towels and once again it took forever to finally receive them. ...Horrible week!

Room Tip: Do not consider this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed (lived) here for more than a year when my husband was in Norfolk. Granted the staff the first few months were rude and didn't seem to care about the guest. I must say though after they were discharged by management the new staff have gone out of their way to accommodate me with any thing I needed. I never once the whole time I was there saw any roaches. Towels and linens were always clean. The only thing that I can say was not so good there was the elevator breaking down on a few occasions. This location is very convenient to grocery,shopping and restaurants. It's a very safe place to stay and I will definitely be staying here again if ever I should be back in Norfolk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

On the 27th of July I made a reservation at this hotel, and I cancelled it at 7:49am on Monday, July 30th. I received a cancellation I.D.
On Saturday morning, August 3rd, I checked my bank account, as I do every morning, and found a $211 no-show bill charged by Savannah Suites.
I called the hotel and spoke to an extremely snotty little girl who was irritated that I'd called. She told me they'd received the cancellation Friday night (liar), and that they'd already reversed the charge but that I wouldn't have access to my money again until Tuesday.
This was not a mistake - this was naked incompetence and I would advaise anyone and everyone who is thinking of staying at this hotel to avoid them unless you're willing to float them a couple of hundred bucks for a few days.
If my money isn't back in my account by 0700 tomorrow morning I'm reporting these thieves to the BBB and the Virginia Office of the Attorney General Consumer Protection Section.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Suites Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Suites Norfolk

Address: 5649 Lowery Road, Norfolk, VA 23502
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Savannah Suites Norfolk 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Suites Extended Stay Hotel in Norfolk is conveniently located at the intersection of Military Highway and Lowery Road less than 1.5 mile I–64 and 1 mile from I-264.Our hotel is furnished with Full Kitchens, a Fitness Room, a 24 Hour Guest Laundry Room, Free High Speed Internet and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Savannah Suites Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Suites Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.