We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New policy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sirena Cucina Italiana - CLOSED

Sirena Cucina Italiana
455 Granby St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1913
757-623-6622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“New policy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I have dined here many times in the last several years. The food and service are always excellent. We went there last evening, a Saturday night, before seeing a show at Chrysler Hall. Fabio, the owner, has prepared a new menu that greatly restricts the variety of items, both appetizers and entrees, that are available "pre show". Our server says it's because the items "back up" the kitchen, creating slow downs in service for people who want to attend a show. She said the restrictions apply from about 6:00pm to 7:30pm or so. Hence, a warning to check the Chrysler schedule before dining there between 6pm and 8pm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abc123Va, Owner at Sirena Cucina Italiana, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much! We are glad that you have been enjoying our establishment and we definitely value your patronage. We would like to take this oppurtunity to explain that after almost ten years we decided that in order to make the service more functional we had to limit the choices of our extensive menu during a show rush. This it will happen no more than twenty evenings a year, only from 6 to 7 PM, before performances at the Chrysler Hall.
Thank you,

Fabio Rinaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    5
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went there last night before West Side Story. When we arrived we were told there was a 'limited' menu because of show night. They took all meat, veal, chicken off the menu. So our choices left were limited and mostly pasta dishes. We ordered. Both meals were mediocre at best. My clams with pasta was really terrible. Clams dried out and very small, pasta had no flavor with basically butter on it that was dry. Dessert arrived and seemed like it was days old. The owner needs get his priorities straight and was to serve his customers and not make it easy for him. Oh by the way there were many tables there empty on 'show' night. does that tell you anything? Also, even if you weren't going to the show you had the limited menu and were never told ahead of time either.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, quiet A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Real Italian food with class. Other than home made by a true Italian this was the best I've had. Wonderful variety.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

...due to the lack of "diversity" amongst their patrons.

No ooking, eeking or bix-nooding are to be heard, ensuring you have an unspoiled meal. - The quiet,friendly atmosphere ensures you won't mistake Sirena Cucina for a Red Lobster or a Chuck E. Cheese's.

Needless to say, eggplant is not on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Never disappointed. Beef carpaccio excellent and seafood always fresh. You see restaurants like this only in Europe and NYC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sirena Cucina Italiana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirena Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.