We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike the Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Botanical Garden

Norfolk Botanical Garden
6700 Azalea Garden Rd, Norfolk, VA 23518
757 441 5830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 54 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Biking
Attraction details
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bike the Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We are so lucky to have these beautiful gardens in our city. Each and every time I go I see something new. The change of the seasons offers so many beautiful plants, trees, flowers, and places for families to spend time outside. My husband and I have totally enjoyed the bike nights and crew regattas. Bike nights are a great way to get some exercise while seeing so much. The hydrangea garden is amazing. So are the azaleas. The trees are expansive. The butterfly garden has such pretty colors. I am always blown away with the blooms of bulbs. We walked through the water play area on our last visit and I wished I was a kid again. The roses are expansive and unbelievable when in bloom. It is hard to believe the airport is right next door, but even watching planes take off is fun from the area they have on the hill. My only complaint is the removal of all eagle nests from the gardens due to the proximity of the airport. Aside from that the gardens are well worth the visit and membership if you live nearby.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    89
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Christmas Lights at the Botanical Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great drive through Christmas Light Show. Terrific time for adults and children. Set to music you can follow on your radio. Has become a family tradition we all look forward to. Usually begins the week after Thanksgiving. Caution though, they only take cash so be prepared.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

In November, when there are not many things to see in Botanical garden, we had a great experience in that garden. Very charming and nice, lots of different sections and paths. Beautiful!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Must see for Christmas Lights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I visited the park for Garden of Lights, so my review is only around that. I reached the park at 5:45 PM (the lights start at 5:30 PM). The lined moved pretty quickly. The entry was 20$ per car during the weekend (they ONLY accept cash). The entire drive takes about 40-45 minutes (~2 miles of lights). If you haven't seen anything like this before, you would be amazed.

I had an opportunity to visit similar light fest in Tanglewood Park (Clemmons, NC) and this was almost as good as that. The entry per car was double than that, but oh well.

The restrooms are located at the beginning in case you need to make a pit stop for that. They also have kettle corn available almost at the entrance. They didn't have a sign to turn off the headlights, but apparently, most folks in the line behind me were sensible enough to do that on their own.

It is definitely worth it if you live in that area, but not something that I would want to drive an hour for.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Year round gem (love the holiday lights!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have been to the garden in the spring and it was a great outing. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I can't wait to return.

However, what stole my heart was our winter visit. The holiday lights are spectacular! Lights are literally draped from the trees (Avatar style) and the festive lighted decorations are great.

This would be a great trip for any family including ours (all adults)!

Just please, turn your lights off when traveling through. It makes it so much better for the people ahead of you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolk Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Norfolk Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.