We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Botanical Garden

Norfolk Botanical Garden
6700 Azalea Garden Rd, Norfolk, VA 23518
757 441 5830
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$38*
and up
Ranked #2 of 49 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Biking
Attraction details
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

In November, when there are not many things to see in Botanical garden, we had a great experience in that garden. Very charming and nice, lots of different sections and paths. Beautiful!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    93
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Must see for Christmas Lights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I visited the park for Garden of Lights, so my review is only around that. I reached the park at 5:45 PM (the lights start at 5:30 PM). The lined moved pretty quickly. The entry was 20$ per car during the weekend (they ONLY accept cash). The entire drive takes about 40-45 minutes (~2 miles of lights). If you haven't seen anything like this before, you would be amazed.

I had an opportunity to visit similar light fest in Tanglewood Park (Clemmons, NC) and this was almost as good as that. The entry per car was double than that, but oh well.

The restrooms are located at the beginning in case you need to make a pit stop for that. They also have kettle corn available almost at the entrance. They didn't have a sign to turn off the headlights, but apparently, most folks in the line behind me were sensible enough to do that on their own.

It is definitely worth it if you live in that area, but not something that I would want to drive an hour for.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Year round gem (love the holiday lights!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have been to the garden in the spring and it was a great outing. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I can't wait to return.

However, what stole my heart was our winter visit. The holiday lights are spectacular! Lights are literally draped from the trees (Avatar style) and the festive lighted decorations are great.

This would be a great trip for any family including ours (all adults)!

Just please, turn your lights off when traveling through. It makes it so much better for the people ahead of you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed ! Nature lovers and bird watchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is one of my favorite places on the planet, something is blooming year round in the garden, plenty of trails for walking and jogging. Greenhouse, tram ride year round and boat rides in the summer months. Lot's of classes and activities year round. Don't miss this wonderful, magical place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The Christmas is Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

While visiting the family we visited the Christmas light show. This show was very nice for the entire family. Even my 2.5 year old grandson enjoyed it. It is a drive through event and very affordable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolk Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Norfolk Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.