We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Zoo

Virginia Zoo
3500 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23504
757 441 2374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Attractions in Norfolk
Attraction details
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went a few months ago, I have driven by it a thousand times since my last visit in elementary school. We wont say when that was.
I was so surprised to see this wonderful Zoo that I had taken for granted for a long time. An amazing set up .. Geared to everyone of all ages.. Kids were all having a blast..
Can't wait to go back.. I promise it wont be that long again!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    130
    36
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reidsville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family loved this zoo. It was very clean, beautifully landscaped, the exhibits allowed you to get close enough to really see the animals, and it was large enough to be worth the money but it didn't take all day. I will definitely be back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a great, underrated zoo tucked into the corner of the state. I don't know if it's because there are so many families in the area, but it's a FAR better zoo than you'd expect from such a small urban area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We always visit zoo, everywhere. That one was one of the best experience, because it happened in November and animals were not hiding neither sleeping. We saw everyone! It's not very big but very charming place.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“its kids excitement place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

very nice place to visit with your kids and childrens,. animals, little - train ,garden is woonderful
kids teens elders and seniors every one can enjoy,

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.