We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moses Myers House

Moses Myers House
331 Bank Street, Norfolk, VA
757 333 1085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 53 things to do in Norfolk
Attraction details
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Historic Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a great short tour to take to learn about some of the history of Norfolk. It is free and the staff really cares about educating the public about the history. I highly recommend it for a short stop.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The structure, history and contents of this 200 year old house are amazing. Since it was continually occupied by 5 generations of the family, 70% of the furnishings in this are original including 2 Gilbert Stuart paintings.
A very interesting and amusing tour guide also.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Moses Myers House--enjoyed the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went there after Christmas. I enjoyed the visit. i enjoyed the tour that was given. It was real interesting. Some of the grounds was taken because of the parking garage. It looked different from 20 or 30 years ago when I was young and in school.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a great find off the beaten path. We go during the holidays when they special have tours and enjoy learning the history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to this property because the Chrysler museum was being renovated and it didn't disappoint. The young gentleman on the front desk gave a super overview of the museum beforehand. Lots of original furniture and paintings, together with a clear information timeline.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moses Myers House also viewed

 

Been to Moses Myers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moses Myers House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.