We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Rider

Surf Rider
8180 Shore Dr, Norfolk, VA 23518-2451
(757) 480-5000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
“Awsome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Surf Rider restaurant is awesome. The friendly, professionalism of the staff was great! the view of the marina adds to the ambiance of the restaurant. The food was great. had the seafood combo (chunk crab meat, large shrimp, and scallops) over pasta with alfredo sauce. Hubby had calamari and fresh oysters. we really enjoyed this experience. no complaints. will recommend this establishment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What happened!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I took my wife to lunch there and was bummed out that we made an expensive bad mistake. Surf Rider used to be the place to go not too long ago. What happened? The crab dip was very bland and didn't have much crab in it at all. Not good. I had a crab cake sandwich. It was very bland. There wasn't much breading which was good and the bun was fresh but that was it. The lettuce that came on the side was white and soggy. Terrible. My wife had the tuna. She said it tasted funny and was overcooked. The chips didn't come out with the meal. She didn't feel right after leaving and threw up later that day. Very bad thing. Lunch came out to about $42. There are too many restaurants to choose from in Va Beach. This one is off my list. Too bad because it used to be on the top of my list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not what it use to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had stopped going there about a year ago, but my husband wanted tuna so we went back. He said his tuna was good but it was so small it was served in a very small platter and about 1/2 the amount it use to be. I got a special 1/2 crab cake 1/2 talipia. The crab cake was not like before. Taste was not as good and about 1/3 of what the crab cake size was. The talipia was spiced and definately farm grown. There are so many good seafood restaurants in this area to go back. The view is great and the service was good this time. But food inconsistancy was why we stopped going there before.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nice Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were visiting the area for the weekend and were looking for a casual seafood restaurant. Surf Rider provided a very enjoyable meal. They offer a nice selection of grilled, broiled & steamed seafood - most simply prepared. The broiled seafood platter and the lobster stuffed w/crab were both very good. The steamed broccoli must be a 'joke', that identifies 1st time guests - one serving is a huge head of broccoli that could easily be split by 3-4 people! Now don't get me wrong, it was very tasty, especially with the Hollandaise sauce but wow, that's a lot of green! Not being from the area we also enjoyed trying some of the local beer selections offered. The service was friendly and efficient. It would probably be nice to visit before sunset in warmer weather to be able to enjoy the marina view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Average Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The surf rider used to be an interesting restaurant with lots of memorabilia on the walls. Unfortunately, it was flooded during the 2009 nor'easter and was renovated to a rather spartan degree. If you need a quick meal and are not too fussy, this is the place for you.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Rider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Rider, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.