We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Rider

Surf Rider
8180 Shore Dr, Norfolk, VA 23518-2451
(757) 480-5000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had lunch at surf rider today and had founder and broccoli which were taste, well presented and reasonably priced. Portions were great and food was served warm. Service was friendly and efficient. If I come back this way will try again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food is always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have eaten at Surf Rider more times than I can count and we have never had a bad meal. The food is fresh and hot and a great value. We live 3 hours away and always make it back several times a year just to eat here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“excellent crab cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our second visit to Surf Rider. Friends who live near by picked the place and eat here often. I had the Chesapeake Burger and the crab cake was one of the best I have ever eaten. Broccoli as a side is yummy. Fried oysters and MR crab soup were very good too. Love this choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a decent restaurant with reasonable prices and very good service. We had an app of buffalo shrimp that we all really enjoyed. The food was prepared correctly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It don't get much better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Always a positive experience! It'll cost ya some green backs, but it's usually more than worth it. Split a meal, or you will be bringing some home in a dogie bag! We go here a few times a year, always come away happy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Rider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Rider, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.