We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
6103 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23518
(757) 855-8170
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #369 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food was bland, the atmosphere was in the dumps, tables not clean, silverware filthy even after I went and found where they keep all the silverware.. Great to take a whole lot of kids for cheap and they can eat till the pop, the best thing is the chocolate wonderfall and cotton candy that u have to wait in line for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Buffet style, lots of good food and variety. Was there for breakfast and ended up eating brunch. This is a keeper. -- that food for about 12 dollars per person. WOW!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for... Not much.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

They offered a huge buffet with a wide variety of food to eat. Everything I tried was "fair." if I was starving, I would go back but it is certainly no place to take a date.

Be forewarned The place was dirty. Food ground into an old carpet, food under the serving counters and twice I noticed male employees exiting the bathrooms without washing their hands. The flushing urinals made a huge racket so one could not help but notice when they were flushed. I was hopeful that they were auto flush with a delay but a visit to the restroom confirmed my fears. One of the offending employees exited the bathroom door as the flush noise was eminatung from the restroom, then went and grabbed an ice scoop out of the nearby ice machine and served himself a cold drink. Yuck!

The health department must be poorly funded in Norfolk...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Best fried chicken! We do not have Golden Corral Buffets in our area, so this was my first experience. They have a great variety of food and it was very tasty for a buffet.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A View of the Kitchen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

In April of 2012 our family visited the Golden Coral on Military Highway in Norfolk,VA. Everything wasgoing fine, the food was delicious but, then we saw the kitchen. Water and trash was all over the floor along with dishes piled high. In between the mess was food that was ready to eat. What was worse is that the kitchen workers just ignored the mess and kept going. Also it was very difficult to locate a clean table as most of them still had dirty dishes, cups and crumbs all over them. The waitress rarely visited our table to clear it of used plates but, I'm sure she expected a tip. Would visit again if these isssues were cleared up.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.