We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franco's Italian Restaurant

Franco's Italian Restaurant
6200 N Military Hwy Ste A, Norfolk, VA 23518-5400
(757) 853-0177
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Norfolk, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Franco's has spectacular Italian food, and I should know I am Italian. I had spaghetti with meatballs and sausage. . Great sauce, just like I make. Firm, large meatballs perfectly cooking. Real Italian sausage done to a tee. Al dente spaghetti. A wonderful meal. My wife loves their linguini with garlic and oil. It was perfect. The restaurant is nicely decorated. A pleasure to eat there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed in the area, looking for a good place to dine,tas you entered your unsure if your to be seated or wait while everyone stares from the kitchen, without a word, a waitress casually tells you to sit wherever, while taking your order very unfriendly and no greeting watsoever , food was good, but, people seldom forget that being courteous doesn't cost a thing, maybe they should work in that area, they lack of it terribly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always Enjoy ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

When you are feeling like Italian - this is a great place tucked away. We visit each time were in Norfolk. Small, family-operated, cozy, and delish.

Read complaints from people on here regarding fries and sandwiches... Why in the world would you go to an Italian restaurant and order that anyway..

I've had seafood Italian dish both times and loved.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“GOING DOWNHILL QUICK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went to Franco's for a going away arrived there at 11AM we were seated quickly and ordered our food. Two Cheese Steaks and a Cheese Steak Hogie with two orders of fries. We recieced our food which was a disappointment. I am not sure what they think a Cheese Steak is but it is not a little piece of meat with cheese. The french fries were a joke they were only about 1/2 inch long? Where can you find french fries in this size? Then the crowd came in and everything basically went down hill. I will say the waitresses did a wonderful job with! Just the food was sub par and the portions were too small.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Recommended To Me - Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My dentist recommended Franco's for its cheese steaks and my wife took me there to celebrate Father's Day. We shared an order of their mozzarella salad (I equate that to Caprese), a cheese steak and veal parmesan sandwich. The ingredients were very sparse, the steak very chewy and the "extra" onions and peppers I requested were virtually non-existent. I recall half joking to my wife that I needed a microscope to locate the ingredients. The veal sandwich was far too salty and the Caprese was dressed with and oil and vinegar concoction (instead of the expected balsamic drizzle) - very heavy on the vinegar. That order with a couple glasses of passable Chianti brought the total check to just under $40.00 along with slow service - very pricey for what was delivered. I understand that the pasta is home-made. Perhaps we'll try that in the distant future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franco's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Franco's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franco's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.