We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAPLE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orapax Inn

Orapax Inn
1300 Redgate Ave, Norfolk, VA 23507-1333
+1 757-627-8041
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 580 Restaurants in Norfolk
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Mediterranean, Greek, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“STAPLE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Orapax is a Staple to those in Norfolk that love Greek foods. While I agree with some other reviews about the changes it is still hard to find Better Food at a better price !!.
in 20+ years I can say it is prob one of the few places that is always good !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
currituck NC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“OH ORAPAX...what have you done?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've been going there for 25 years...and what the son has done to this place has got to have his father rolling in his grave. First of all...I pay for consistency, so don't go and screw with a good thing. TOO LATE. So let's start with the bread...still getting that, but not the drawn butter. Now...it's oil and some spices. uh, no. Then there's the salad...what the hell are you doing messing with a sure thing? I swear! They have changed the salad... ok, then there's the Saganaki which is my all time favorite. That has gone way up in price, now you get two slices of the cheese they light on fire at your table instead of two. My son's Gyro was ok...but something has changed- and NOT for the better. Will I go back, maybe. But that used to be "definitely"

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A place that is so hidden in Ghent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place is one of the best places for Food in Norfolk. It is just hidden in West ghent area...But it is highly recommend to spend time and find it.

I suggest the Egg plant and the Macaroni.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Greek food, Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

There was a group of 9 of us. Even though the place is small, the seating is arranged so that a group is accommodated easily with reservations. The hummus and homemade pita chips were a delicious start to the evening. Every one enjoyed their meals. We had pizza, spanakopita, kotopitas, slouvaki and greek salad....All were delicious. A definite return is in our future. It's also a great place for family and friends. Of course the service takes time...but isn't dinner supposed to be that way! Don't come when you're in a hurry. Come to relax and enjoy the food and time with people.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERICKSBURG, VA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was a good experience. I came here from afar a while back, and a workman doing (I think the floor) repair growled at me to say, "It's closed!" - no sign to the efft. I wondered if a return visit would be worth it.

It was.

I had a very fine experience there. The special was the rockfish. It was perfect in every respect. When I mixed it up with the "rice" and sauce, it was a delight.

The little girl doing the waitressing was handling about 10 tables with proficiency, and nobody looked like they were looking around for their food, or as if lacking anything. She also seemed knowledgeable about the menu, and informed me that bread was like a Greek sourdough. It was a mouth-melter! That's for sure.

Have since talked to a young man from Richmond, who is moving to Norfolk. I recommended Orapax, but he already knew. Apparently people who know food, and like it, know this place. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orapax Inn also viewed

 

Been to Orapax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orapax Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.