We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is airport food?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back Bay Bistro

Back Bay Bistro
Norfolk Airport, Norfolk, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This is airport food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It would be great if other airport restaurants could learn from this place. My son's mushroom/swiss burger was cooked to order & tasty. My husband & I had the Southwest Salad & it was fresh & delicious! Crispy lettuce. Not-grizzly chicken. SO much better than the brown salad I got at an airport restaurant in JFK airport!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

While waiting for my flight I stopped in at Back Bay Bistro for lunch. I had the Chilli & Southwest Salad. The food and service were great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worst service Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Since your stuck in Norfolk Airport there is only one other option and that's Starbucks (go there). The Bistro seems to employ people with no service skills what so ever. I always feel like I'm inconveniencing them to ask for anything. Regardless of the order it take FOREVER to get food and they charge high rates for beer and alcohol.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We three business travelers had two hours to idle away at ORF airport recently, and found ourselves post-security in the Delta terminal, and suddenly hungry. We expected little, and got a lot.

Back Bay Bistro is near the end of the concourse, and has the usual bar-type seating, plus half a dozen tables in the middle on the concourse. We sat there, enjoyed the late day sun filtering in, outstanding waitress service (even though it was a short walk to and from the bar and kitchen), and surprisingly good pub-type of food. A salad, a crab cake sandwich, and a pulled pork sandwich were all outstanding. Prices were very reasonable.

Whoever owns and manages this restaurant obviously cares, and does a great job with food and service. I'll keep BBB in mind next time I'm flying out of Norfolk.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
“Not so special airport dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Ate here as we were early to the airport and it was the only sit down place in our concourse. The service was attentive and friendly. The menu had a nice selection. My wife and I split the crab cake dinner (two crab cakes with sauce and loaded potato wedges) and a butteflied fried shrimp appetizer. The shrimp were very tasty with a very nicely horseradished cocktail sauce! The crab cakes were poor, more like crab cake patties (emphasis on cake, aka filler and not crab), they were the size and shape of a pressed veggie pattie with about as much crab taste (the chiptole sauce was decent). The loaded potatoes were good with bacon, cheese, chives and sour cream. The prices were more airport inflated than I would have expected for a small airport. Might be a better option to eat prior to going through security than in concourse B.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Bay Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Back Bay Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Bay Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.