We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Park

Harbor Park
150 Park Avenue, Norfolk, VA
757-622-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Sports Complexes
Attraction Details
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Diamond in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Not a huge baseball fan (I like the action of hockey) but this was the perfect Wednesday night activity. Gorgeous field, very clean area, food was great, beer even better and everyone was helpful and kind. There is nothing like sitting on your teams side with a bunch of other hometown folks. Great for kids and adults. Money well spent for a night out and definitely a fun experience for those who have never been to a ball game.

I travel around Virginia a lot so check out my blog www.travelingva.wordpress.com for more reviews, pictures, and fun stops!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice little park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Perfect for a Saturday afternoon or evening ball game. They have a restaurant serving a buffet, but it is expensive. Plenty of fun for the kids and I recommend bringing them. Parking will cost you a few bucks so have some cash. Affordable family night out and the Tides are usually a good team to watch...Orioles AAA club. Great seats are very affordable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Park, Awesome Concession Choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wonderful ball park, clean and neat. Staff is very helpful and courteous. Concessions are spread out, lines are never too long and there are many many options- great way to spend a day watching the Tides play.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Ballgame!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had the opportunity to take my wife to a Tides game last month and was pleasantly surprised at all the upgrades there. New food stands with a wide variety of food, enhanced seating out in right field and America's pastime. What more could you want. Couple this with taking light rail to and from and you have a great and relatively inexpensive time. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Lovely Ballpark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I went to Harbor Park to see the Pawtucket Sox play. It was a bonus when we went to buy our tickets and found out that they would have a fireworks show after the game synced to the music of the Dave Matthews Band. We got there about 6:30 and it was packed. It took quite some time to get in as traffic was very busy. Once we got to the parking area, it wasn't too bad. There aren't areas marked off or anyone directing you to park anywhere in particular, so you just have to be sure you don't park somewhere that you could potentially be blocked in.

Once we got in the park, and there was certainly a long line to get in and only one gate open, we were impressed by the size and condition of the park. We've been to other minor league parks that certainly don't have as much to offer. There were a lot of food options and concession stands. We sat on the Sox side, as that is who we came to see, and had great seats in section 109. It was packed with both Tides and Sox fans, which made for a fun atmosphere.

Our only problems came when we went to the concession stand nearest our seats. We stood in line waiting for food for 2 1/2 innings. No one waiting in line was pleased. It was not well organized and we were actually greatly disappointed in the food. We didn't bother ordering beer once we saw that this minor league park charges major league prices on beer. Towards the end of the game, we did try the friend s'mores and fried snickers, which I highly recommend. They were busy, so their line was long too, but it moved a lot quicker than the regular concession stand that we experienced earlier in the game.

We enjoyed the game and the activities that were offered throughout it. The seats were clean and the area cared for at all times. Kudos to the man who was working in our section, as he caught some seat switching kids and was sure to remove them promptly. The teams both interacted with the fans, offering autographs at times and throwing lots of balls our way.

The fireworks were outstanding. They were better than a lot of the 4th of July displays that we have seen in the past so we were grateful to have attended on a May evening that included fireworks. Getting out of the park was no trouble at all!

Overall it's a great park that maybe wasn't prepared for the excellent turnout for this game, mostly in terms of staffing the concessions. I hope they will be better prepared next time, but I'll probably just eat before we go to the park to be on the safe side. Of course, I'll save a little room for fried Snickers. :-)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Park also viewed

 

Been to Harbor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;