We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home and Excellent Staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Norfolk Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Norfolk Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1590 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Home away from Home and Excellent Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Due to water damage in our home, our family relocated to this hotel and resided there for 3mos. It was a chaotic time, but the AMAZING staff here treated us like family and made this place our home. I am so grateful for all of them. The front desk, Cheryl, Guyanna, Denzel, Terricko, Takita, and manager Richelle always making us feel like we were coming home everytime we entered the hotel. Not to mention all the faxes and copies and just overall help. Especially Cheryl who seemed to adopt my kids and made them feel special! The kitchen staff, Dan, Robert, Thelma, and Janice who always made sure we had something even in the off hours. And who all put up with a cranky 4 year old who was not always easy to deal with. Housekeeping staff Miriam, Laquisha, and Freihwat, who graciously cleaned up after us and the dog too! And finally Mike, Bob, Omar, Armando and Roosevelt for all your help! We will miss our Residence Inn family! Thank You!

Room Tip: we stayed in every type of room during our stay. But my favorite is the 2 bedroom suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear EllenMarie527,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport! We appreciate your comments greatly and please know that we will miss you and the kids tremendously! We will definitely miss Ethan entertaining us in the lobby:) Best wishes to DJ, who will be heading off to college next year and to Olivia, for being a talented and beautiful young lady. We have already celebrated your comments with our entire team as well as those that you have so graciously highlighted. We are thrilled that you and the kids will always be part of the Residence Inn Norfolk family!

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you back "HOME" at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport!

At your service,

Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    52
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
23
6
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visit this location two times a year. The lady at the front desk remembered us, I think her name was LaJita. Took her card but lost it. Room was spacious and clean. Shuttle is quick and you hear very little noise from the airport. The fireplace is a nice touch and having food available for happy hour is convenient for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear LynnRI,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport. We appreciate your comments greatly. We have already celebrated your comments with our entire team as well as Takita that you have so graciously highlighted. We want to be your only choice for lodging while in the Norfolk Area!

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you back "HOME" at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport!

at your service,

Rachel Cadet
Hotal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a very clean hotel with friendly service. Denzel at the front desk was very helpful and professional, as was the service staff in the food area. Rooms are large and comfortable.
I highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jeanne S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport. We appreciate your comments greatly. We have already celebrated your comments with our entire team as well as those that you have so graciously highlighted. We want to be your only choice for lodging while in the Norfolk Area!

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you back "HOME" at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport!

at your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed one night here for business. The room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. The hotel had all the amenities I could ask for. I've always found 1st floor rooms to be rather loud, but it was nice and quiet. The airport shuttle was extremely helpful and all the staff went out of their way to be helpful, including providing complicated directions to a restaurant across town. My only complaint at all about this hotel was the breakfast. Breakfast is served from 6:30am to 9:30am, but by 9:00am all the food that should have been hot was lukewarm, including the decaf coffee. Other than that, the food was quite good. In fact, other than the temperature, the food was the best I've had from any hotel hot breakfast. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Kristy D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport! I am so happy to hear that we were able to ensure your comfort and exceed your expectations with your accommodations and requests. I apologize for your breakfast experience and will use your comments as a training exercise to enhance all guests experience.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you come "HOME" on your next visit to the Norfolk area.

Thank You,
Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a good property, not new, but well maintained. It is currently being remodeled as evidenced by the trailers and sofas in the parking lot, but inside the hotel we witnessed no active workers or construction noise.

It is situated in a complex of large, new office buildings. While it is close to the airport, airplane noise was not an issue.

We enjoyed the managers reception, and breakfast.

We would stay again at the property during our next visit to Norfolk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear RoadsideVisions,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport! We thrive on ensuring all of our guests are comfortable and we hope all of the amenities make you feel like you are "HOME" As we are going through renovations to enhance the hotel, we appreciate your feedback about not being disturbed during your stay. I am happy to hear that the Managers reception and breakfast was great and I will be sure to share your comments with the Staff.

Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to you returning "HOME" on your next visit to the Norfolk area.

At your Service,

Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raeford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This Marriott property is convenient to the airport, down town Norfolk, the local military installations an Virginia Beach. Parking is easy and so is getting around town if you avoid the rush hours by as little as ten minutes. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. There is a two burner electric stove top, full size refrigerator, microwave, a basic compliment of cookware and dishes, and a dishwasher. You don't even have to load the dishwasher, you can be lazy and the housekeeping staff will load your dishes and have clean and shiny when you return each day. Standard fare at the breakfast and dinner bar will do if you like. The staff is the real story at this location. You are treated like family, when someone says good morning, how are you today, they actually listen to your response. Everyone from the maintenance staff to the front desk clerk! Speaking of which, check in and check out is smooth and efficient. It seems every member of the staff has good advice on where to eat, shop, relax or be entertained. Really great people.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for tips about dining and entertainment, the staff wont steer you wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear StrongGrog,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport! We thrive on ensuring all of our guests are comfortable and we hope all of the amenities make you feel like you are "HOME". Our staff understands that whether you are traveling on business or pleasure that we can be there to listen, to ensure you are comfortable and that you have a great experience, I will share with all Associates your wonderful comments.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you again in your future travels to the Norfolk area.

At your service,

Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently sayed here before an after flying to Washington for vacation. We were very happy with the accommodations. All of the rooms, to my knowledge, were suites with a seperate living area with sofa and small kitchen. The space was more than adequate. The rooms were clean and newly renovated. The staff was courteous and helpful. They arranged a shuttle to and from the airport while allowing us to leave our car in their parking lot. We felt that it was a nice perk that was included in the room price. A wonderful , and more than adequate, hot breakfast is provided from 6:30- 9:30 am. We will definately stay here again if we need a very early flight.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear George C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how happy you were with your accommodations at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport! All of our rooms are suites and we are so happy to hear that your experience with us each time, before and after your flight to Washington that you were confortable. We thrive to ensure that all of our guests traveling on business or pleasure have a great experience. I will share your comments with the Staff, so they are aware that they exceeded your expectations.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you back "Home" at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport.

At your service,

Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Airport

Address: 1590 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn, an extended stay hotel that is pet friendly and provides complimentary airport shuttle to and from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). We have weekly social receptions to mingle with other guests or have a leisurely one on one basketball game on our court. We are only a few miles from the Virginia Beach Oceanfront family friendly activities, Farm Bureau Amphitheater, and downtown Norfolk's corporate district. Spacious suites with fully equipped kitchenettes and separate bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.