We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysler Museum of Art

Chrysler Museum of Art
245 West Olney Road (at Mowbray Arch), Norfolk, VA 23510
757-664-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Mahnattan48
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We could have spent days at this exceptional museum. We were inspired to visit by the glass exhibit and it was first class, including the required Chihuly, but also one of our personal favorites Lino Tagliapietro, and many other wonderful artists. It is always exciting to see someone from your home state represented, and there were three Rhode Island glass artists - Toots Zinsky, Howard Ben Tre and Steve Weinberg - all exceptional examples of their work.

My husband found the African art section unusual, and their was a fine photography exhibit we saw. I wish we had had more time to explore, and especially to visit the glass studio. On this trip we had babies and elders making museum outings challenging, but if we ever get back to Norfolk this will be at the top of our list.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    55
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have been fans of the Chrysler for many years and can't say enough good things since the museum recently reopened after an 18-month renovation. Love, love, love the new galleries, the inspired staging of old favorites, and by far, the gallery hosts are something that every museum should emulate. What a joy to chat with friendly, knowledgeable folks instead of being glared at by security guards in uniforms. A must-visit for anyone coming to the Norfolk area and for those of us who live here. Outstanding, accessible, approachable, educational experience!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“5 Stars for the Chrysler Museum of Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the courteous opening of the door for me at the entrance to the friendly escorting of me at the end of my visit, I have nothing but praise for this art museum. But before I visited the actual museum building, I enjoyed a glass-blowing demonstration in the Glass Studio across the street. One of the artists worked a 45-minute presentation from start to finish the making of a beautiful, functional glass pitcher.

I began my tour of the collection at the Chrysler with the world's largest glass collection--its more than 10,000 objects ranged from the functional to the whimsical and the ancient to the modern. I particularly liked the Gianni Toso's (1985) "Chess Set."

As an admirer of European and American painting, I wasn't disappointed by the quality of the selections on display. It includes many wonderful works by a range of well-known artists.

The staff were super friendly and knowledgeable, and I appreciated having them available in the galleries where they were willing to answer questions and expound on works as docents, not just guards, as is the case in many museums. This museum is a gift to visitors--especially since entry is free! Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Loved the glass exhibit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We visited this museum just to see the glass exhibit because I had heard good things about it. I wasn't disappointed. They have glass artwork from through the ages and across the globe. My only regret was that we missed the glassblowing demonstration.

We also explored other areas of the museum while there but our time was quite limited. While there isn't much from huge name artists, what they do have is nice and they make it easy for visitors to get around and enjoy the artwork.

The staff was also very friendly and eager to answer questions. And it's free! Not many museums are free these days, so that's a nice perk.

Overall, I recommend this for anyone who has an interest in artwork, or even architecture. The building itself is something to see.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum Worthy of The Title”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

So many priceless works of art, be prepared to spend the day browsing this collection. Fantastic collection from many periods and a family activity that is FREE to the public (donations accepted). Love the tapestries and the glass collection but the many Christian examples of art spans many centuries and is worth the visit alone. Don't miss this amazing museum.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysler Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Chrysler Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrysler Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.