We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best art museums n the South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysler Museum of Art

Chrysler Museum of Art
245 West Olney Road (at Mowbray Arch), Norfolk, VA 23510
757-664-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Virginia Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best art museums n the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This great museum is a gem. While it has a sizable collection of a wide variety of art, it's glass collection alone is a great reason to visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    45
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another take on art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I must say I was really glad to visit the museum. They had artifacts from different periods. I totally underestimated their collection. Go during the weekday for less people. Make sure you visit the glass museum as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not an art lover”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

to some this would probably be great howver I am not thrilled on art work so I fould this to be very boring. I am not fond of meseums anyway but this one is deffintely not my style. It is more for the people who actually like art.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You will be pleasantly surprised ~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very nice collection for city of this size. Don't miss the relatively new glass-blowing studio! Fee of donation on Wednesdays.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“art museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

beautiful place, not crowded, lots of featured artist displays. I love the sculptures best. The grounds are lovely, next to a river runs thru center of town. friendly staff

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysler Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Chrysler Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrysler Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.