We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The USN Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS Wisconsin

USS Wisconsin
Nauticus, Norfolk, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 attractions in Norfolk
Type: Ships
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The USN Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The USS Wisconsin was incredible to visit. Be sure to check out the interior sections, where sailors lived and slept, to truly appreciate how crowded they are. We loved being on deck and finding where the Harpoon missiles and Tomahawk missiles were launched.

You can pay extra for a guided topside tour, which we didn't do, but I think would be a good investment for people serious about asking questions or learning the most you possibly can.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    91
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Its a great place to visit with kids of all ages as well as adults. It might be too much for older adults because there is a lot of climbing required to go thru all the levels in the ship. We did the self guided tour which was good. You can pay more to get the guided tours but be aware that they have limited seats and only run 2 or 3 times a day. Plan ahead and buy tickets online for guided tours to prevent having an issue at the end. We drove 4 hours down to catch the guided tour. We arrived 2 hours early but the guided tour was sold out. Only 1 spot left therefore, we ended up doing a self tour. The self tours don't allow us to go down to the main level of the ship where they teach you about lifestyles of the tailors. Also, there were a few other topside options that we couldn't attend being a self touring family. But overall, it was definitely worth it!
Also for little kids who get hungry quickly, there isn't a food court. They have an area designated for eating with about 4-5 vending machines with junk food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's very big, educational and interesting place. We don't have kids but I am sure they would love it. It's also amazing how big it is. I have never seen anything similar to it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

we took the guided tour of the USS Wisconsin and was very happy with the tour. The guides were
very knowledgeable and courteous as well as friendly. i highly recommend this to anyone visiting
Norfolk, Va area.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nauticus and "Whisky" - must return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My friend and I only had time for an hour or so stop in Norfolk on the way to Williamsburg. I wanted to see The Wisconsin and she was interested in the Hunter House Victorian Museum over on Freemason Street.

The Wisconsin and Nauticus museum complex is certainly worth returning for a variety of reasons. It seems ideal for school groups, veterans, or families.

I took the self guided tour of the battleship, but would be interested in a guide next time.
There are wonderfully displayed and organized exhibits inside the Nauticus complex. Unfortunately, I could only breeze through.

There were paid staff and volunteers who were extremely helpful. I spoke to several volunteers who were active duty military("Thank-you").

I intend to return next year.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USS Wisconsin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS Wisconsin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added USS Wisconsin to your Saves list