We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn about the life of this General” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Memorial

MacArthur Memorial
MacArthur Square, Norfolk, VA 23510
757 441 2965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Monuments/ Statues, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Memorial to the five-star US Army General who served in three major wars: WWI, Korea and WWII.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Learn about the life of this General”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very in depth and informative museum. Tells his life story. Learned things about the General that I had not thought about. The displays were of great to me and well thought out in the presentation format. If your into US History, this museum is well worth you time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you like memorials to Generals you will like this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's Ok. I spent many years living in Norfolk and the only time I visited the Memorial was I had out of town guests.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“MacArthur Is The Man!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great museum and gift shop! I'm a fan of Gen. Douglas MacArthur so I love the museum and statue of the man! Very historical and a great way to spend the say. Afterwards, go to the MacArthur Mall and enjoy some retail therapy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I loved the memorial and it's exhibits. MacArthurs official car is even in amongst the many things to see. The Purple Heart walk is beautiful and sad at the same time. Go see and enjoy all the other sites Norfolk has to offer

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great history freebie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

They take donations for this display of MacArthur memorabilia. I believe it is the largest collection. Covering WWI until the Korean War. Next door is a visitor center with a gift shop an it is located across from the mall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacArthur Memorial also viewed

 

Been to MacArthur Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.