We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth a Visit - And it's FREE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Memorial

MacArthur Memorial
MacArthur Square, Norfolk, VA 23510
757 441 2965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Monuments/ Statues, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Memorial to the five-star US Army General who served in three major wars: WWI, Korea and WWII.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit - And it's FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This memorial was a pleasant surprise. We really enjoyed ourselves and learned more than we expected. The museum features tons of real artifacts – everything from MacArthur’s Chrysler limousine which traversed the Atlantic, uniforms from World War I, a motorcycle and jeep, MacArthur family heirlooms, MacArthur’s famous corn cob pipe and aviator sunglasses, and even the final resting place of Mr. and Mrs. MacArthur.

We began our tour with a 27-minute film that describes the memorial and highlights MacArthur’s life and 52-year military career. It plays on every hour and half hour. From there, we toured an exhibit on the Rainbow Division, then the two-level Memorial. All the staff members were friendly and helped point us in the right direction as far as determining the best order to tour the facility. Upon entering the Memorial, you immediately find yourself in an impressive rotunda, gazing down on the tombs of General Douglas MacArthur and his wife, Joan. From there, there are eight galleries to peruse. Each gallery highlights a period in MacArthur’s life.

Even the gift store was nice. We purchased stamps from the 1940s and some Filipino money from 1942 featuring MacArthur himself.

This made for a great Sunday visit since on-street parking was free and abundant. This would make for a great rainy day or hot day activity.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit. I learned a lot of things I didn't know before .Plan your visit around a good movie at the mall. Great Saturday Plan

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum with WWi and WWII history and life of Genreal MacArthur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Memorial/museum spread out over 2 buildings. First one included a good, short movie about Mac Arthur and an exhibit about WWI and the US involvement. Second building contains graves of MacArthur and his wife, and a great exhibit of his life including his roles in WWI, WWII and the Korean Conflict and more. Very well done, although exhibits require a lot of reading. Probably not best for families with small children. Good coverage of American history and context with the wars. There are stairs with both buildings, but I suspect there is handicap access, although I wasn't paying attention....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Tastefully honors a great American hero.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This Memorial traces the life and times of a great American and his family, from the 19th Century to Douglas MacArthur's death in the 1960s. It also credits his wife's achievements after his death.
It honestly addresses his contentious relationship with President Truman during the Korean conflict. This Memorial is more than a biography of MacArthur; it is a description of a long segment of the American experience. You have to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Liberator of the Philippines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were one of the proud Filipino families who visited the MacArthur Memorial last Labor Day weekend. I am a big fan of the General. The memorial has a visitor's center (open everyday) where we saw the General's memorabilia, including his vintage Chrysler car. The center has a theater where we viewed a 7-minute video of his life in battle. The museum next to the center is where he and his wife were buried. His story was well documented in the museum. My wife couldn't help but cry after reading what he did for our country. Across the street is the MacArthur mall. The memorial and museum is accessible to the public, but I suggest that you should go there on weekends.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacArthur Memorial also viewed

 

Been to MacArthur Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.