We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good dose of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Memorial

MacArthur Memorial
MacArthur Square, Norfolk, VA 23510
757 441 2965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Monuments/ Statues, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Memorial to the five-star US Army General who served in three major wars: WWI, Korea and WWII.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good dose of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Free admission, donation appreciated. It was really interesting to learn more of General Douglas MacArthur who played a huge part in my country's history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Snow Camp Nc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Found out things I did not know about the General. Location nearby shopping, in the old courthouse, General and his wife are buried on the site as well. Great value - it is all FREE

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MacArthur Memorial--great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went to the MacArthur Memorial 30 years ago. It was very interesting. I enjoyed the info that was given.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
283 attraction reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Great place to learn about General MacArthur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staff was very well informed about his life, etc. Only going to spend an hour here but ended up spending 2+ hours. Excellent presentations. Makes you want to read more about the man.
Even if you are not into history or WW1, WW2, think you'd come away with some appreciation of events & times.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Learned something new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I work on a museum ship, that just so happened to be the Generals flagship during the retaking of the philippines. I learned a lot by visiting

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacArthur Memorial also viewed

 

Been to MacArthur Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.