We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6350 Newtown Road, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Chapin, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here 1 night on the way to Chincoteague, VA. The location was very convenient to the interstate and just about 3/4 of way to our destination. I made the reservation based on location and on the Marriott brand name. The facility exceeded our expectation. The staff was very friendly ands helpful. while making the reservation , during the stay and follow-up afterwards. The room was spacious and was complete with microwave, refrigerator (with freezer) and sink. The bedding was very comfortable and overall cleanliness was excellent. The price was low for the amenities provided. I would highly recommend this facility if you have a need to stay in the Norfolk/ Virginia Beach area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Bob,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and had a great experience with the staff!!

Hope to see you again next time you are in town.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    55
    20
    11
    17
See reviews for
78
38
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

First, I like Springhill Inn's and as a Marriott Platinum, they rank high. I selected this hotel based on reviews, price and location to my meeting. This is a little different than the average Springhill as it has a large lobby and big meeting rooms. The rooms are average - just a hotel room. The hotel is clean and easy to get to. The only thing that bothered me was the smell in the room. It was like it had been smoked in for years and then they were attempting to cover it. It was not worth complaining about or moving as it was not overpowering, Just in the back ground.

I will stay here again as overall it's just fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Tim,

Thank you for staying with us this past week! I apologize about the smoking odor, we have always been a non-smoking hotel but I will make sure we deodorize the room thoroughly.

Thank you for the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again when traveling to Norfolk/Va. Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Got a suite that was large and impressive. The breakfast buffet was AWESOME! Had everything you could want. Great Bang for your buck! Huge plus, is the FREE shuttle that took me to the airport. Saved me a ton on time. I will be staying here next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your response! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, having the shuttle is definitely a great added amenity for our guests.

We hope to see you again when in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Springhill Suites Norfolk on two occasions, once in July 2013 and then again at the end of August.

The rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is pretty good. The location is a little bit odd and there isn't much around in terms of restaurants.

Our first stay in July was excellent overall, except for a 1am false fire alarm that had everyone evacuate the hotel and stand outside while fireman came and inspected every floor. I'm not sure how to avoid this, but it was definitely disrupting.

In August, we had a few issues during our stay. I had forgotten a razor and wanted to purchase in the little "store" at the front desk - but no razors. There was also no hair conditioner available during the entire stay. I never bring conditioner as hotels always provide it and I don't travel with unnecessary liquids. Couldn't purchase that in the hotel "store" either, so ended up making a trip to the drugstore to get these items. The manager said they were waiting on a shipment to replenish supplies. It probably would have been nice to get some temporary replacements for guests to use until the supplies arrived.

During this same August stay, my teenager daughter made the mistake of leaving her wallet zipped up in her school backpack in the room while we were gone. It had $50 cash in birthday money in it that was definitely there when we boarded the plane for Virginia. Though it can't be stated with 100% certainty that it was lost in the hotel, it's probable. From the plane, we went straight to the hotel and the backpack stayed there, zipped up, the duration of our weekend. As we were packing up, she noticed all cash was missing from her wallet. Lesson learned - she now knows not to ever leave her wallet unattended, though she had a hard time believing it wasn't safe in our locked hotel room and in her backpack.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for providing us with feedback for your stay during July and August. I will share this with my staff so we can use a real world training.

I would like to personally speak with you in reagards to your daughters wallet, please feel free to contact me anytime!

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had recently stayed at Springhill suites and what an experience! The rooms were clean and guest services was very accommodating. It is also very pleasing when a hotel offers a full breakfast buffet! Food was great :) I would definitely stay at this hotel again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good afternoon,

I am so happy to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay while at the SpringHill Suites. I will share this with my staff!

We hope to see you the next time you are in Norfolk/Va. Beach.

Warmly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It was clean, and you had a home feeling throughout the whole place.......You won't be disappointed. Next time we go, we will go to Ruby Tuesday's for dinner. Instead of chinese......Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Durinda,

We are so happy to hear that you and your husband had a great stay with us!! I will share your kind words with my staff!!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business and location. Rooms were very clean and staff was friendly. Only had a slight issue with the locking mechanism on the hotel room door...(had to be electronically reset twice).

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Ken,

Thank you for your kind words, my apologies about the room key.

We hope to see you again when in Norfolk!!!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach

Address: 6350 Newtown Road, Norfolk, VA 23502
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#1 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springhill Suites Norfolk/Virginia Beach is a centrally located all suites hotel near Virginia Beach, VA. Only minutes from Virginia Beach Town Center and the Virginia Beach Oceanfront activities. Farm Bureau live is only a short drive from our Spring Hill Suites Norfolk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.