We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice hotel with a few issues.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6350 Newtown Road, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
tampa, fl
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overall nice hotel with a few issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Springhill Suites Norfolk on two occasions, once in July 2013 and then again at the end of August.

The rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is pretty good. The location is a little bit odd and there isn't much around in terms of restaurants.

Our first stay in July was excellent overall, except for a 1am false fire alarm that had everyone evacuate the hotel and stand outside while fireman came and inspected every floor. I'm not sure how to avoid this, but it was definitely disrupting.

In August, we had a few issues during our stay. I had forgotten a razor and wanted to purchase in the little "store" at the front desk - but no razors. There was also no hair conditioner available during the entire stay. I never bring conditioner as hotels always provide it and I don't travel with unnecessary liquids. Couldn't purchase that in the hotel "store" either, so ended up making a trip to the drugstore to get these items. The manager said they were waiting on a shipment to replenish supplies. It probably would have been nice to get some temporary replacements for guests to use until the supplies arrived.

During this same August stay, my teenager daughter made the mistake of leaving her wallet zipped up in her school backpack in the room while we were gone. It had $50 cash in birthday money in it that was definitely there when we boarded the plane for Virginia. Though it can't be stated with 100% certainty that it was lost in the hotel, it's probable. From the plane, we went straight to the hotel and the backpack stayed there, zipped up, the duration of our weekend. As we were packing up, she noticed all cash was missing from her wallet. Lesson learned - she now knows not to ever leave her wallet unattended, though she had a hard time believing it wasn't safe in our locked hotel room and in her backpack.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for providing us with feedback for your stay during July and August. I will share this with my staff so we can use a real world training.

I would like to personally speak with you in reagards to your daughters wallet, please feel free to contact me anytime!

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    48
    15
    11
    16
See reviews for
63
35
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had recently stayed at Springhill suites and what an experience! The rooms were clean and guest services was very accommodating. It is also very pleasing when a hotel offers a full breakfast buffet! Food was great :) I would definitely stay at this hotel again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good afternoon,

I am so happy to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay while at the SpringHill Suites. I will share this with my staff!

We hope to see you the next time you are in Norfolk/Va. Beach.

Warmly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It was clean, and you had a home feeling throughout the whole place.......You won't be disappointed. Next time we go, we will go to Ruby Tuesday's for dinner. Instead of chinese......Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Durinda,

We are so happy to hear that you and your husband had a great stay with us!! I will share your kind words with my staff!!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business and location. Rooms were very clean and staff was friendly. Only had a slight issue with the locking mechanism on the hotel room door...(had to be electronically reset twice).

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Ken,

Thank you for your kind words, my apologies about the room key.

We hope to see you again when in Norfolk!!!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed at the springhill suites several times as a Marriott Gold Member and have loved it each time. The hotel was designed and decorated very well. The staff here is always excellent and friendly and go out of their way to take care of you if they can. Have never had anything but great experiences here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
HI Dave,

Thank you for your feedback!! I will share with the staff!!!

We take great pride in service at the SpringHill Suites.

Hope to see you again soon!

Warmly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am a Marriott brand hotel user for years and have been in numerous hotels around the Americas; from Canada to Chile/Argentina. Some staff of hotels try to show that they are helpful to make your stay a comfortable one but you can easily see it being fake. I rarely see that at Marriott brand hotels. Then comes to this jewel called SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, Virginia. Due to flight of my niece from Norfolk Naval Air Station and shipment of her car to a foreign destination, I chose this hotel for our stay; two rooms for a 24 hour stay. Amazingly, the staff bend backward and every which way to make our tight schedule an absolute joy.
This is my very first review after 40 years of travel but I owe the staff of this fine hotel a few minutes of my time to write this review as form of thank you. Camran

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello Camran,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the hotel and our staff! I am so pleased to hear such positive feedback!

Best of luck to your daughter and we hope to see you again in the near future!

All the best,
Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After a horrifying experience at a hotel across the street, my husband and I checked into this hotel. My husband and I drove 4 hours to get to this area before he went back on military duty. We were nervous because the original hotel we checked into held our money and we didn't have much left to spend. I checked in with the general manager, Dawn (I believe that was her name). She was so friendly and understanding. She let us check into the room at an outstanding rate that we could afford. The staff was so friendly. The breakfast bar had a large variety to choose from. My husband and I utilized the gym which was very clean and the pool/hot tub. I am so happy with my experience there. They really saved our weekend. The one and only issue we had was the tub was wouldnt drain properly, but maintenance quickly addressed that issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Good Morning!!

It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband Friday evening! I am so happy to hear you were able to relax and enjoy your weekend at the SpringHill Suites.

We hope you will visit us again when in town!

Thank you for your kind words, I will share with the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach

Address: 6350 Newtown Road, Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#4 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springhill Suites Norfolk/Virginia Beach is a centrally located all suites hotel near Virginia Beach, VA. Only minutes from Virginia Beach Town Center and the Virginia Beach Oceanfront activities. Farm Bureau live is only a short drive from our Spring Hill Suites Norfolk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.