We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6350 Newtown Road, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff always smiles, the rooms are clean and quiet, and the breakfast is good. What more would I want? Oh yes, the parking is free and there is easy access to the highways but I didn't hear a sound.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the great positive feedback about the staff and the property as a whole. We do our very best to keep every aspect of the hotel in top condition, as well as, striving to provide top notch customer service. We greatly appreciate when we receive positive comments from our guest. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will choose our location again if you are ever in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    59
    25
    11
    18
See reviews for
90
41
17
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting the Hampton Roads area. The location was convenient -- not too far from VA Beach, downtown Norfolk, and other attractions. The lobby area was beautiful and inviting. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean -- just as expected.

We used the pool area in the evening -- we sat in the hot tub for a while and afterwards, cooled off in the pool. The hot tub was clean and it was nice that there wasn't a bunch of kids running around.

In the morning, breakfast was chaos. It was a Saturday morning, so maybe that's to be expected. But what really raised my eyebrow was all the retirees in the breakfast area. The breakfast area was so, so crowded. So many people crammed into the space, all either waiting for a waffle or the toaster. Plus, there wasn't anywhere to sit. We had to stalk people and scoop up their table as they were leaving. Add in the fact that this hotel was crawling with retirees, everyone in the breakfast area was moving at a snail's pace, causing us to get quite a bit irritated!

Additionally, nearly every table was not appropriate for eating -- meaning, many of the tables were of coffee-table height, making eating your breakfast not very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the comments you submitted about our hotel. We do our very best to keep everything in top condition and as clean as possible. The weekend that you were here, we had two large senior groups in the hotel. We hope that you will choose our hotel for future stays if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Springhill Suites every staff person being very polite and attentive to our needs one in particular (Ms. Katlyn) the guest services agent who guided me to the hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great as well I really didn't want to leave. We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about my staff and the property. We definitely do our very best to make all aspects of our guest experience enjoyable. Thank you for choosing our property and we look forward to having you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there before and this hotel is still very good. It shows a bit of ware and tear but they started a revocation in the lobby and will also update the rooms. The rooms are big and well furnished. The beds are very good and the bathroom are clean and big.
The breakfast is included in the price and is good.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
But like all other hotels with breakfast, they have only one toaster with a lot of guests waiting in line. I don't get it. Get a second toaster please
But I will go there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially glad to know that we continue to impress you enough that you keep returning. I would like to inform you because of you pointing out the issue with our toaster, I have purchased an extra one for the breakfast area. Thanks for pointing it out to us as we always look forward to ways that will improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We like the brand and have stayed at many SpringHill Suites in the past, however, this hotel is at the bottom among its peers.

SERVICE: The desk staff person (Ariana) was rude and not helpful when we asked for only an additional 30 minutes to prepare to leave after we had just run a half marathon. The front desk staff also inactivated the card keys more than thirty minutes before checkout time.

VALUE: Not a good value for the money paid.

SLEEP QUALITY: The beds lacked proper support and felt like hammocks. There is a bright LED on the smoke detector that illuminates the room and you can actually tell it's shining in your face when your eyes are closed. The blackout curtains are hanging on by a thread.

CLEANLINESS: Live silverfish bugs infest the bathroom.

ROOM: The television is placed on a low table that is far from the bed, making it difficult to see while laying down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your response. As the General Manager of the property I make it my point to review all guest concerns and investigate them promptly. I am so sorry that you did not share this information about the insects with me when you checked out or when you came to the desk to ask Arianna to give you a later check out than the 1 PM you had already been granted because I was the gentleman standing right beside her both times. We do, however, take great pride in our customer service and do go out of our way to do our very best to fulfill all guest request whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The rooms are comfortable - a nice workdesk with mini-tables surrounding, a mini-fridge and microwave, plush bed and big-screen TV, and vigorous shower made the room pleasant to stay in. The employees were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was pretty good - the waffles, cereal and pastries were A+, but I'm not a fan of powdered eggs and turkey sausage. Overall, though, I'd rate this hotel as quite good, and relatively inexpensive ($94-$99 per night) - and it's convenient to Norfolk airport or the Naval Amphibious base. I'd stay here again, if I was in the area. The Ruby Tuesday bordering the hotel is very good, but the Denny's across the road... avoid it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our property and especially your room. We try very hard to meet/exceed all of our guest expecations and we appreciate the positive feedback. We hope that you will choose our hotel for your future hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On a four day business and pleasure trip, this hotel was excellent. The facilities were great and the price was fantastic. The room had recently been renovated and was spotless. The hot breakfast was very good. The location was close to the interstate in a nice area.

Room Tip: Did not use the SPA. Everything was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your great comments. It is our goal that every guest that enters our property has the same great feeling and opinion of our property when they leave. We truly hope that you will choose us again if you ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach

Address: 6350 Newtown Road, Norfolk, VA 23502
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#1 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springhill Suites Norfolk/Virginia Beach is a centrally located all suites hotel near Virginia Beach, VA. Only minutes from Virginia Beach Town Center and the Virginia Beach Oceanfront activities. Farm Bureau live is only a short drive from our Spring Hill Suites Norfolk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.