We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A museum providing an overview of the navy in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Roads Naval Museum

Hampton Roads Naval Museum
1 Waterside Drive, Ste 248, Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 322-2987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 23 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A museum providing an overview of the navy in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Visited the USS Wisconsin early in the day before it got very warm & humid outdoors. We came back into this air conditioned facility to enjoy a leisure tour and learn of the Naval history of the area. This facility does provide an in-depth history and overview in this field. We found it well worth our time to tour the exhibits.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Make a stop here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Fabulous collection of nautical history, they even have a battleship. Kids will love it and the old, salty Sailors will give you a great tour. What would you expect in a Navy town? Right in the middle of downtown Norfolk and near shopping and some good restaurants. Waterside is in walking distance, not much anymore but a couple popular eateries remain.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“1/3 Free, 2/3 Not Free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Spending two weeks in Williamsburg caused us to look beyond the late 1700's for something to do. Alas, nearby Norfolk has a naval museum including an old war ship! A quick look on travel sites and I learned that the museum was free! That turned out to be 1/3 true. The smallest (but to be fair, a fine part nonetheless) was free, but the most interesting areas, including the Wisconsin battleship, were areas where you needed a paid ticket. It's my own fault, just wish I would have figured that out before arriving.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

really enjoyed the Naval Museum. we did not want to visit Nauticus or the USS Wisconsin. the Naval Museum is free, you have to climb some steps to get to the entrance. my wife's father was retired Navy and this was perfect.. it is basically a timeline of the United States navy. pictures, models, uniforms, artifacts and much more to be enjoyed. if you or your loved ones are or were Navy, go to this. doesn't take long.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hawk, South Dakota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Part of the Total Package!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is part of the Nauticus and USS Wisconsin attractions and is a must see.You pass thru its lobby on the way to the Wisconsin. Has excellent scale models of many naval ships. Admission is free.
One nice part is they have free postcards and historical pamphlets, paid for by your tax dollars.
I have reviewed the Nauticus and USS Wisconsin separately.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Roads Naval Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hampton Roads Naval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Roads Naval Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.